A birthday in rants

  • March 2, 2014, 5:25 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I once had a friend.

She was a neighbor and MUCH younger. Actually I was closer in age to her mother, but she and I didn't get along as well.

After her father died, her mother moved to Ohio. She was 16 and pregnant... and her mother left her in the apartment as she had no interest in moving to Ohio.

It was too much stress trying to keep the apartment, so after Thanksgiving that year, she called her mother to come get her... she moved out. She phoned a few times and returned in January.

She moved in with me - pregnant belly, dog and suitcase. We lived in a one-bedroom apartment with 4 dogs, multiple cats and my godson... for a few months!

She had her mother's gift for running away from difficult situations. I lost touch with her again and again.

She now has 5 grown children - her oldest son and one of the daughters are my godchildren - I never see them.

I miss her. I miss them. I miss the friendship we had. BIG TIME. There's so MUCH pain there, I cannot even express it any more.


Spinster March 02, 2014

I'm sorry. The potential for pain is one of the reasons I keep the neighbor kids at a distance. With their alcoholic father and a mother who plays the victim all the time my voice telling them they don't have to make the same choices their parents did is not going to make much of a difference. I try to be there for them when its convenient for me and to give them positive feed back, but any more involvement would lead to heartbreak for me.

Darcy0207 from OD Spinster ⋅ March 02, 2014

Interesting... her father was an alcoholic also. I know I had a positive influence on her - she went to complete college which she probably would not have done without my input. I often wonder do I miss her? or do I miss the quality of friendship I thought we had? I hate that.. not knowing if the friendship had been real or a put up job.

Deleted user March 06, 2014

shame. i think i'm very afraid of this sort of thing, so i avoid friendships.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.