The Shot was worse in Life After 60

  • July 24, 2019, 6:39 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Medical Practice is a true oxymoron. You walk in, give them your money, and the list of symptoms. My appointment is for 2:00. I arrive 10 minutes early, just case the doctor is running early. Yes, I was dropped on my head as a kid.
At 2:15 I am called back for the vitals, asked again what I am seeing the doctor for. I am then placed in an exam room and told the Doctor will be with me shortly. Shortly to medical staff is never short to the patient. Finally at 2:55 the Doctor walks in the door and ask what I am seeing him for. This causes me to doubt his competence. I know the nurse wrote all that information on my chart he holds in his hand. Maybe he can’t read? Actually, the reason they do that is because a patient will seldom tell the nurse everything especially if they are of the opposite sex.
Sidebar you judgeship: I used to work as a medical assistant in a clinic. The patient would tell me they were seeing the doctor for 6 month check up. They would tell the doctor it was for Erectile Dysfunction. The doctor would look at me like I was nuts. Oh, well back to the story.
After a brief exam and discussion, I am told the insect bite on my hand is causing an allergic reaction and I have two choices. He can write a script or give me a shot. I opt for the shot. It will enter the bloodstream quicker and I don’t have to stand in line at the Big Box Pharmacy.
5 minutes later I am out the door with a slight hard spot on my upper lip. I am sure I just bite myself or hit somehow. (That should have been my first clue this was a bad idea.) By the next morning, I seem to be rash free. But about 5:00 P.M. some terrible starts to manifest its self. My face is flush, looks like I have a sunburn. My voice beings to crack like I was going through puberty again. And this morning the rash is back in some very undesirable places along with swelling on the left side of my face. I am thinking the shot is causing this reaction or else the shot didn’t work. Waiting for the doctor to call.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.