Dementia Journal, July 21, 2019 in Daydreaming on the Porch

  • July 22, 2019, 8:11 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

One of the most frequent comments I get from people who read my journal is this, “I don’t know how you do it. I could never do what you’re doing.” Before I say anything else, I’ll say this. If circumstances were different, you might find yourself caregiving as I am doing. There are reasons you don’t foresee it now, and you probably have not had to be a caregiver thus far. But when you see the love emanating from the one you are caring for, and how totally vulnerable and dependent he or she is, a supra-normal strength and determination come to you as well as a degree of patience you never thought you were capable of.

So when people say they couldn’t do it, it may actually mean they’ll have to wait and see.

Some people think they wouldn’t do it because there’s little or no quality of life left for the loved one. But this is a highly subjective concern. Although Mom has advanced dementia, in a strangely unexpected way her mind has accommodated this different person from the mother I once knew. Although she is sometimes very frightened, angry and paranoid, most of the time she is a very sweet and quite charming person, especially around visitors. The Hospice nurse, after only three months, is quite fond of her, and we are thrilled she has come into our lives. Mom greets her when she comes each Thursday with her beautiful smile, which I see every morning when I get up. As she was getting ready to leave this past week, Mom told the nurse, “You’re doing a good job.”

I wrote this reply to a very thought-provoking note a few months ago from a reader who said she wouldn’t do what I was doing, or maybe that she couldn’t, I’m not sure. She herself would never want to be in a condition of greatly diminished quality of life and in an expensive and understaffed nursing home. She wouldn’t want to live in such a condition of life or state of advanced physical or mental deterioration, if it should come to that.

Here is part of what I said in reply:

Mom is deteriorating inexorably, physically and mentally, but still, despite everything, she has a significant quality of life. She enjoys her family, some meals, especially breakfast, loves ice cream sandwiches, and, above all, the flowers we have in abundance for her in the den where she sits. She loves to look at the trees in her garden outside the huge floor-to-ceiling windows, and she frequently tells us she loves us. She can still read her Bible verses, however slowly and haltingly, and she is rarely in any pain. We are so thankful she doesn’t have arthritis, for example, because her pain threshold is very low. We have Hospice now, and so a nurse comes weekly to check on her. I believe in palliative care and we are going to do our best to make her as comfortable as possible until the end, whenever that is. That is something we will never know. I’m hoping she thinks, and somehow knows, I’m trying my hardest to do what’s best for her.

This isn’t to say her life with dementia is not the tragedy that Alzheimer’s and dementia are, but rather that she often feels a contentment or even happiness that is difficult to explain or understand given the situation she is in. Despite the disease, and at 96, she still is the gracious lady that she was and always will be. On those evenings when Sundowner Syndrome kicks in with its ugly repercussions, she is a different person entirely. She curses me, tries to scratch and hit me when I try to clean her, and says many horrible things such as that I’m killing her and she’s going to kill me. She called me a stupid ass and a jerk this morning. Fortunately I’ve developed a pretty thick skin.

If I ever lapse when this occurs and think she means it, I get angry and start thinking maybe I’m doing something all wrong. But then I realize this isn’t Mom and that she would never say these things in a normal state of mind. So I don’t let it get to me. I continue cleaning her, endlessly it seems when her incontinence is severe, and disinfecting the floor and grip mats after I’m done or have gotten her to bed. I tune out the smells and I sweat profusely because it’s hard work and I’m not a young man anymore, far from it. But I surprise myself with what I can do.

So, maybe you’re still thinking that you couldn’t or wouldn’t do it. No way. She’d be much better off in a nursing home. Or, you wouldn’t ever want a child to have to care for you when you’re old, demented, incontinent and utterly helpless. You have your reasons. I have no special insights into your lives or experiences with loved ones. But from my own experiences, and from the perspective of my state in life, I can tell you why I do this, and it’s not that complicated. My reason for taking care of, and being responsible for every aspect of Mom’s life, can be summed up quite eloquently in this brief passage from a now unfortunately defunct bi-monthly devotional, “Strength & Grace: Daily Devotions for Caregivers. This is from the entry of October 31, 2018: “When we are devoted to someone — truly devoted — nothing can turn us away from that person. Not hardship. Not pain. Not sacrifice. Our hearts are forever linked to his or hers.”

Our minds are made up. We are in this … no matter what.” I think it’s the same whether it’s a parent, spouse, partner, or any loved one or close friend.

No matter what. Even on nights when I want to scream and pull my hair out. When I feel I can’t take another minute of Mom’s endless questions or the inner pain she’s feeling as she curses me. Ten minutes later she says she loves me and holds out her hand for me to hold in mine.

Tonight’s been relatively peaceful. A little while ago she looked up and said simply, “I’m happy.”


Last updated July 22, 2019


Marg July 22, 2019

I don't think any of us know what we're capable of until put to the test. Or just how powerful an emotion true love can be and what it can enable us to do when we have to.
Your Mom is still incredibly lucky to have a son like you :)

MageB July 22, 2019

After several very bad falls, our friend Duck pleaded to be allowed to stay home for just a little longer. My husband was his conservator, and we began visiting him often. One of his neighbors told us that Duck was falling often. After a damaging fall, we took him to the hospital. In the ER he thought he was on a cruise ship that landed, and he put on his coat and hat and walked out. The doc said that he should go into a nursing home for observation. I'm so glad he did, for only after he moved out we discovered his shower was literally black with dirt, as were his clothes. He through his meals on wheels away because he couldn't open them.

We were able to visit him every day in the nursing home. We surrounded his bed with many of his marvelous giant stitcheries. And we were with him when he died.

Kristi1971 July 22, 2019

A mother brings us into the world. A mother cares for us no matter what, no matter how tired, etc. A mother loves us no matter what. It's only right to give that back in return as a mother ages. It's a circle of care-giving that goes with the circle of life.

I worked in a nursing home as a teen. I saw so many elderly living in a home with no one to visit them, some would have visitation on holidays only, and a few dedicated family that would come in many times per week. It was super sad to see.

Everyone's situation is different, but I think most people could handle it more than they think. I fully expect to take care of my mom when the time comes. I'm not physically strong like she is, so I will have difficulties. I will find a way, though, and do the very best that I can do, and all that will be done with the same love and devotion she gave to me when I needed it most.

With that said, I totally look up to you with all that you are unduring. Thanks for writing and bringing an update to me.

Newzlady July 23, 2019

Very good points here. I think it's been said before, but this story should become a book. Individually, posts would be helpful articles in some publication. This one strikes me as especially so. AARP? AMAC?

ODSago July 26, 2019

Have been hoping to see some word from you before the month was finished. And, then what a word you supplied. So glad for you to share your thoughts and that the hospice nurse and you are in agreement, your mom is quite person, and via all you have shared with us, your are too! Take care. Know so many of us are thinking of you day to day.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.