Music calms the savage beast. in Life After 60

  • July 18, 2019, 10:03 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

This idiom is actually a misquote of a line from the play The Mourning Bride from the year 1697. The British poet William Congreve wrote this originally as music hath charms to sooth a savage breast. It reminds me of something Sheldon Cooper would say upon hearing Penny misquote this phrase. I live vicariously through Sheldon. 1697 English would have driven Sheldon bonkers, me I like it, they spell things as they sound, not as my English teachers required.
Music has become my life, my passion. I listen, I write, I compose, I perform. When I was young I dreamed of having several instruments, a music room, and playing whenever I wanted to. It has taken me 61 years to realize that dream, but it was a dream worth waiting for. I only wish I had started earlier.
The odds of me being discovered or getting my big break are slim to none. Unlike most musicians or artist I do not like to self-promote, but I see that it is a necessity. So many people believe that musicians are arrogant, self-centered, and prideful. That is so not me. And that may be the reason I struggle with my music. But I do enjoy it.


crystal butterfly July 19, 2019

There are certain types of music that seems to agitate and bring out the anger in many people. It is a good quote, but I think when that savage beast is around you had better be really careful what type of music you decide to play.

Douglas Kinney crystal butterfly ⋅ July 22, 2019

Heavy Metal, Rap, and Disco come to mind! LOL

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.