Reincarnation in Life After 60

  • July 14, 2019, 9:09 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’ve had many deja vu moments in my life. So many I have lost count. While the theory behind them is wide spread I still don’t know what to make of them. But this week end was more like the movie “Groundhog Day”.
If there is such a thing as reincarnation I must have done something bad in a former life but not so bad that I can back as a dung beetle. I have this knack, of being able to go to a store and pick up an electronic device and it is the only one out of an infinite number that is defective. It is like Murphy’s Law ruins my life.
Friday I went to my local big box store to purchase a new stereo for my truck. I decided to go ahead and splurge. I picked out a combination radio/cd/dvd/ with an optional backup camera. Knowing it is easier to install an aftermarket radio with a dash kit and wiring harness I was set to change radios.
Not to bore you with all the details it took much longer to modify the dash kit than I hoped for. That should have been my first warning that this install was doomed. Once the radio finally fits into the dash I can then wire the harness for power and speakers. Next, install the backup camera. Decided to finish the radio first. Just trying to get the radio back in the dash was a terrible ordeal. More adjustments on the dash kit and I have wasted a day.
New day, fresh start. Finally, the radio is installed. Time to check everything out. The DVD player will not eject the disk. Back up camera cable end is broken off in the radio. Errrrr. Pull the radio out, unwire the harness, return to store.
This time I get a radio without cd/dvd. They are out of camera’s so I will wait on getting it. Wire the new radio, install in dash, power up. Works great. Turn on headlights, the radio loses power. Hmmm. Double check wiring looks correct, power up radio, works fine, turn on lights, powers off. ERRRRRR…back to the big box store. Second time in 3 hours!
Replace with the same type of unit, rewire harness, check radio before installing in dash and everything works. So after three different radios, I finally have on that works. Maybe I was a terrible radio installation tech in my former life and I am getting some more paybacks?


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.