Why I like Prosebox better than Dreamwidth in Thoughts, wishes and things

  • July 9, 2019, 10:39 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Prosebox is way more modern-looking than Dreamwidth. Also it’s easier to use and less complicated. Overall, Prosebox looks like it’s been made in a modern style from the ground up. By contrast Dreamwidth looks like it’s an old-school interface that they’ve made modern updates to (but is still old school).

They are both good though. I’m not saying Dreamwidth is bad, just that this is why I like Prosebox better.

It’s also not just about the look, I feel that Prosebox is easier to use. You just start typing. No need to be asked to input your mood or tags or any other extra stuff that I frankly don’t care about too much. On Prosebox, you type, you publish, and you’re done. In Dreamwidth, it’s OK and you can pick a modern looking theme, but the default is old school. For example, in Dreamwidth, you wind up with a sidebar by default. You can change the look of your theme in one click to move the sidebar stuff to the bottom (which is what I’ve done) but I’d prefer it if it would be gone altogether. I don’t need the extra clutter. I guess this is why I love Prosebox so much - it is uncluttered. It has everything you need to type (images, bullet points, etc) and none of the unnecessary distractions. You can type, and then you’re done.

You can personalize the Prosebox backgrounds, but I personally like the default of the white background and dark text.


Last updated September 04, 2020


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.