You've Got Mail, Mel, Male in Life After 60

  • July 9, 2019, 8:02 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I still remember the sound of my modem connecting with AOL. Back in the early days of the internet and email, a 56K modem was all you needed! Plug in your house phone line and the world was at your fingertips. And as a bonus, your phone line was busy so no one could call you and interrupt your surfing.
Travel with me back in time to Dec 1998 and we have a wonderful funny romantic comedy starring two of my favorites yet again in You’ve Got Mail. There is still to this day a website dedicated to the memory of this classic with the dial-up modem, email exchanges, and trivia. The puzzling part of the movie for me was how did Joe and Kathleen meet online. The story takes off with an email exchange in the middle of a previous conversation.
This is, after all, Hollywood so we just take for granted what they tell, or don’t tell us, and move on with our life. An hour and 59 minutes later with tears in our eyes, we leave feeling we had a part in the happily ever after.
But here in the real world, we get an email or friend request from someone we don’t know and it’s delete and run a virus scan. If life was just that simple. The scams and con artists are so convincing there days. Fake websites that look just like the original and phone spoofing. FYI, if you get a phone call from your own cell phone number, don’t answer it. It isn’t you! (Unless of course, you left your phone at home in which case this wouldn’t apply or would it?)
When they come to make a movie about my life, I think I want Billy Bob Thorton to play me, and Yes, of course, Meg Ryan has to be my love interest. It will be a short dramatic satire about a guy who falls in love with blogging and loses all touch with reality. I’m lost in the 50s tonight!


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.