No Buy July in Musings

  • July 2, 2019, 9:23 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I have heard of the idea of “no buy challenges” for a while. We decided to try it out just to save money and see what we learn from of it. I wanted to write about our parameters in case we decide to revisit this in the future.

*We decided what we can buy is groceries (obviously) and any toiletry we run out of (though I don’t think we should)

*We also added that especially since it is summer we would add in 1 family activity a week. This week we have a 4th of July event and we will be buying food and possibly some tickets for games for the kids at the park. We also have a zoo trip planned (we have zoo passes but we are going to buy ice creams etc) But other than that no going out to eat. Including Nathan’s lunches during the week.

*We are also not buying any sort of little things for the girls like we do sometimes. Play dough, dollar store toys etc. The exception to this is a present for Alex since her birthday is on the 22nd. I already have two things for her but we are going to buy her a little trike. We will obviously get her a cake too!

*The only other thing I know we will be spending money on is some gifts for our sister in laws baby shower. I’m making her a blanket but I also want to include a couple fun stuff and then I’ve already told her I’ll get her whatever practical things she still needs closer to time for baby to get here.

*I literally just remembered my cousin is getting married this month. It’s his first marriage but her second one. Both in their 30s and have everything. So they don’t really neeeeed anything. But I’ll probably pick up a little something.

We are only two days in so I’ll be reporting back with how we did soon!


ChainedChrysalis July 02, 2019

Good challenge!! Good luck!

northern lights July 07, 2019

This sounds like such a good challenge. I should try it - it'll have to be No Buy August as this July included moving house!!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.