The Cheese has slid off the cracker in Life After 60

  • June 30, 2019, 9:12 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Does anyone in your family suffer from mental illness? No, they all seem to rather enjoy it. Please understand I am not making light of those who have this illness. Full disclosure? I have it myself. Some days the medication masks the symptoms and I can lead a productive life. Other days it rears it’s ugly head and stops me cold.
The first step, as with any problem, is to admit you have a problem. Of course, we live in a society today that still tends to shun those. I will admit deciding to seek help was difficult. No one likes to have those words associated with their medical records. The very thing that keeps us from seeking help is the very thing that should lead us to seek help.
Some who fail to seek help slide further into depression and feel suicide is their only way out. I have been to that dark world. It is a scary place. And I have friends and loved ones who went there and never returned. I am not a professional on the subject by any means, but I have experience. Talking to someone you can confide in is a big help and talking to someone who has been there is gold.
Never give up. Seek the help you need. Not just for you but for your family and loved ones. All life’s matter.


Last updated July 03, 2019


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.