Schtuff in Hot town, summery in the city - 2017

  • June 30, 2019, 2:30 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Yep, there’s schtuff. I’m watching Sheryl Crow on the Glastonbury coverage. I absolutely love her!!

It’s L’s birthday but R bought tickets to see the baseball in London for today so we got up extra early to do presents. We also had a special birthday breakfast of waffles, fruit and cream. Then I took him to the station to chuf chuf up to big London! I had promised L a swimming trip for her birthday and assumed that T wouldn’t want to go as she has huge body image issues. The stress of school caused a serious acne issue and, although it is in a much better state now, she really struggles. Most of the time she wears long sleeves, long legs and jumpers to keep her body covered. Literally last week she took her jumper off while outside - we were studying neolithic history by having a picnic at West Kennet Long Barrow 😂. Since then she wore a bra top for an afternoon and a short sleeve dress (still with leggings).

So when I invited her swimming with L and I, I honestly expected a negative response but she came and wore her swimsuit! And while there she went to the slides on her own - she usually won’t go further than a couple of feet away from me when we’re out!

Of course, I went on the slides too. There are various slides there but the originals have just been refurbished. I’ve used these with kids I’ve nannied who are in their twenties now! There are three in a line, the first is slow and good for littler kids. The second you have to go down head first; I was hurtled down, sliding up the wall on some turns and, when there was a sudden and rather steep drop, I carried on forwards, airborne for almost a second before hitting the slide further down. The water bashed my face and suddenly I saw the light. I let the water take me, dunk me in the splash pool at the bottom and tumble me around, leaving me utterly disorientated. I loved it!
The last slide has a much smaller circumference and is pitch black. You go on your back, feet first, with no idea where the next twist or turn is coming from, as the centrifugal force whips you up the sides, spinning you around the bends and suddenly the tunnel is ringed with lights, the speed at which you pass them making a strobe effect. The pitch black returns for a second or two more before you’re vomited out into the splash pool.

We went on that one lots of times!!

I’ve decided to do proper training in gel nails - always good to have a skill that can earn a little extra cash… That’s on 16th July.

Oh, and I’ve got my personal ofsted inspection on Wednesday. I still have two and a half days to get everything in the house ship shape… Wish me luck!!


Deleted user June 30, 2019

Love Sheryl Crow.

thesunnyabyss June 30, 2019

how awesome!!!!

we have a house inspection tomorrow ourselves, fun, happy cleaning!!

Deleted user July 01, 2019

Wishing you much luck ! Happy Belated Birthday to L. !

northern lights July 06, 2019

xx

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.