Snake in General

  • June 28, 2019, 10:21 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Strangest thing about memories. In 1997 I was working in the Electronic Warfare Coordination Cell (EWCC) at the Combined Air Operations Center (CAOC) at Dal Molin, Vicenza Italy during the Bosnia conflict. One of the augmentees was a guy, callsign “Snake” from Snake Plissken.

He was a snake eater, former pararescue (PJ) before switching to the Navy.

Small, wiry, incredibly strong man.
I was living in a converted carriage house on the side of an extinct volcano in northern Italy. How many people can say that? It was part of a Villa owned by a very elderly Contessa. There were still bomb craters from WWII. I lived about a mile from the Scallette in Vicenza. That took some hits during WWII as well.

To get into the compound you had to get through a huge wrought iron gate then wend your way to the carriage house. When I was driving I had a fob, I’d press the button and the gates would open.

I shit you not. Once in a lifetime experience. Snake my way to the carriage house and park the Mercedes rental.

One night I was watching a re-run of “Friends” on the only English language channel. At the gate there was a security camera, and the monitor was in my kitchen. I heard the buzz about three times.

Finally I got up and looked. Snake. Staring at the camera. “Open the fucking gate asshole!”
I did. A few minutes later he stormed into the house, roared into the kitchen and grabbed a beer.

Seemed to calm down a little bit, and then told me a story.

He had screwed up his back while lifting that morning. Went to a pub. Met an Italian girl. Somehow charmed his way into her bed. Left. And found his car had been towed.

He caught a taxi to my gate, because his apartment was on the opposite side of Vicenza. He slept in the spare room. He was gone before I woke up.

That guy could spin a yarn.

His son found me on facebook.

Funny how the world works.


Last updated June 28, 2019


woman in the moon June 28, 2019

Snake, huh?

Deleted user June 29, 2019

He literally ate snakes ?

Duke Deleted user ⋅ June 29, 2019

In the US Military special operations types are often referred to as "snake eaters" because sometime in training they do indeed eat snakes.

Deleted user Duke ⋅ June 29, 2019

Ugh ! :-)

Telstar June 29, 2019

This reads like a W.E.B. Griffin novel...…………...

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.