Summer so far in Musings

  • June 21, 2019, 11:06 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

First of all, whatever is happening with the weather and allergens does not get along with my body. I already went to the doctor once because my allergies turned sinus infection and a horrible cough. I felt better for a couple weeks and now I’m sick again. Not amused.

We went to a state park with my parents and my brother and his wife the first week of June. It was such a good trip. We stayed in an adorable cozy cabin which was 3 bedroom 3 bath and the perfect size for us. The back deck was huge and had so many places to sit and relax. And it even had a little swing set for the girls. And a fire pit that would have been fun but it was too rainy the week we were there.

We went hiking in the woods. It was so fun and beautiful. I was mostly in charge of River (our Golden) and we went ahead while my dad and Nathan stayed back with the girls. It took me back to when we lived in Arkansas and went hiking all the time. Nathan and I also went kayaking. I was hesitant about it because the water was really high but they had a good spot open that didn’t have any rapids. It was so fun and I’m really glad we did it together. The girls did really well for the most part on the trip and loved all the extra attention from their grandparents, aunt and uncle. It was surprisingly affordable and Nathan and I are looking at possibly going back for a few days in the fall just the two of us.

My cousin got married last weekend and I was one of her bridesmaids. It was super chill and everything went pretty smooth. It was Star Wars themed which was cute. I’m still in denial that she’s really married. She’s only 21 so she is really young and still has a year left of school. But maturity wise she really is pretty level headed and smart. I’m happy that she’s happy.

Other than that we are just falling into a good summer routine. I finally made photo books for 2017 and 2018. Looking back through photos made me realize just how much easier things have gotten. The girls are much more independent. They play well together for the most part. Alex is almost 3 so she’s growing out of that restless toddler energy. For instance as I write this they are playing play dough happily and have been for almost an hour at this point. If I tired this even a few months ago Alex would have been trying to eat it or throw it or put in places in the house for me to find later.

Now if only we could get this child potty trained…

My obsession with thrifting has not ceased. I am fully aware at this point it is a dopamine hit to find such good pieces at such a low price. It is honestly the one thing I do just for myself so I don’t feel that guilty for it. But I’m putting myself on “no buy July” for next month. Only letting myself buy things we actually need. I’m already not a huge spender but I do think it’ll be an interesting experiment to not buy anything for a month and see what I learn. I’ll report back.

We have VBS next week. Im doing crafts again. I’m honestly not looking forward to it. I think it’ll be fun once I’m there but the anticipation makes me anxious. Always. Leah is excited though and it’ll be good to give her time with her friends for a week.


Last updated June 21, 2019


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.