I should probably cut down on reading books - but how? in Thoughts, wishes and things

  • June 19, 2019, 11:55 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I never thought I’d say that. But I have. I’ve loved reading all my life. I love books, and I read them for the enjoyment of them. But lately, I’ve noticed that I often read for reasons like escapism. It’s quite true that it’s hard to draw the blurry line between “getting lost in a good book” and “I want my mind to be somewhere that isn’t reality at the moment”. But I think I’m tending more toward the latter, and maybe that isn’t the healthiest. For sure it’s healthier than harmful things like drinking too much, or drugs. But still, it isn’t probably healthy to read to lose myself.

There are definitely benefits to reading a lot. One is that I’m never bored. Another is that I always finish the book for my Book Club much faster than anyone else in our group.

I don’t let my reading get in the way of housework or any of my other responsibilities. So I’m productive and happy.

But I still feel that I should probably take a break from reading for the moment.

When I mean a break, I don’t mean that I’m going to totally quit reading. And I’ll probably continue to read non-fiction (which I don’t love the way I love fiction, so it’s not very addictive at all and I don’t read it for escapism). But I think I will have to somehow cut down on my fiction reading. Why? Because it’s not just the possibly-unhealthy reason for reading, I’m starting to suspect that I’d be more creative if I was reading less. In other words, by reading I’m only consuming creativity. I’m not producing it.

Would my brain become more productive and (most importantly to me) more creative if I cut down on reading? I suspect so. I’m going to try an experiment. I’m not sure how to do this exactly, because going cold-turkey on fiction books is probably not going to be a realistic goal. But it still needs to be enough of a cut-down that my brain will compensate for it by (hopefully) becoming more creative and I’ll actually produce more stuff. I’d like to write more, but if I instead do some other craft or pick back up on a hobby that’s great too.

So. I’ll definitely give myself the OK to read last thing at night (this seems reasonable, and if I’m tired I know I’ll happily put the book down). Should I allow myself to read at any other times too? I don’t know. I’m open to ideas and input from others.


Deleted user June 19, 2019

What's wrong with escapism? Isn't creativity another form of escapism?

I definitely agree that cutting down on consuming leads to more producing. It's a delicate balance because because, at least for myself, I find inspiration from what I consume.

KendraVox June 19, 2019

Thank you for this insight. This answer, and the private comment I received, both went along the same lines of reminding me that having SOME level of fiction is useful because it leads to inspiration. So I need to remind myself that while I need to cut down, I should not eliminate it otherwise that itself can be detrimental. I guess it's important to find a middle ground between too little and too much fiction. Thank you both who replied so far. This is very helpful for me.

Disastrous Beauty July 09, 2019

This is interesting. I was confused when I read the title because "wait, what? reading is so great!" but it made sense when you said your concern is that you're consuming creativity more than producing. Perhaps I would focus more on inserting other things into your life (producing creating), instead of trying to cut out reading. Organically, if you do that, one could assume it would balance itself out.
Perhaps that's six of one, a half dozen of another, but that's just where my mind went. shrug :)

KendraVox Disastrous Beauty ⋅ July 09, 2019

Wow, that's great! Thank you for your insight. I see what you mean, it's like instead of trying to eat healthy by cutting out unhealthy stuff, eating healthy stuff is a better approach because it means having less room for the unhealthy things. So I can see what you're saying, focusing more on creating should organically result in the balance I'm seeking. Thank you!

Disastrous Beauty KendraVox ⋅ July 09, 2019

Of course! That's actually exactly what I was thinking of - eating healthier versus dieting :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.