Feelin' the Love in Introduction

  • June 18, 2019, 7:56 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

They say it’s my birthdaaaaay … da na na na na naaaaa!

I love my birthday. So much so that I count it down all year long. It can be December 18th, and I’m telling people that “my birthday is 6 months today!”, even though now that I’m an adult, it doesn’t hold the same magical charm it did for me when I was a child. Still, it’s so nice to get greetings from people I don’t hear from regularly, and I do enjoy allowing myself a break from the mundane daily tasks like cleaning and cooking. Since I am my own boss, I also have the ability to not write any clients into my schedule, so I take it off every year and do what I want for the day. It’s the only time I feel justified/good about doing that.

It’s pouring as seems to be the norm these days in NEPA, so I won’t be spending it sunbathing, tending to my new garden or doing any of my favorite outdoorsy things. Since I am knee-deep in cleaning/redecorating my father’s apartment in anticipation of his return from the nursing facility (he’s recovering from a partial amputation of his right leg), I think I’ll work on a painting for his walls. I know he’s going to love the place now - all freshly painted and cleaned, with a more “homey” feel. My daughter, who he makes no apologies claiming is his favorite, had a pillow made for his sofa featuring both her and the pug. I cannot wait to see his face when he gets to go home. It felt damn good to do this for him, and I think the best part is that we did it as a family. Christian and I were already planning on helping another person who is going through rough times when we are finished with the work on Dad’s place.

I’m also going to spend the bulk of my day writing. I have to get out of my own way and finish at least one of the stories I am working on, and I feel the latest one holds the most promise. Unlike the others, I know exactly how I want it to end, but I haven’t gotten enough time to myself to get on it. Hopefully, I’ll be afforded enough quiet time today to get closer to finishing it.

Suppose I’ll start now.


NoOneListensToMeAnyWay June 18, 2019

Happy Birthday and have fun! I enjoy taking off for my birthday too, I call it Tim day (soon to be a national holiday, I hope!) and I do anything I want. Which is mostly stay at home and watch movies Debbie doesn't want to see.

Valued Customer NoOneListensToMeAnyWay ⋅ July 27, 2019

Lol I like that idea. I’ll celebrate your holiday! I’ll watch marvel movies all day in your honor. When is it?

DE_KentuckyGirl June 18, 2019

It's my birthday too, ya!

No not really. ;)

I'm the opposite. Dont think much about my birthday and sometimes even forget it's my birthday.

Happy Birthday!!

Valued Customer DE_KentuckyGirl ⋅ July 27, 2019

Thank you! (I am getting to my comments a tad late! Lol)

DE_Da_Bartender June 18, 2019

Maaaan, I haven't heard that song since they used to do birthday shout-outs on the radio. That took me back!

Valued Customer DE_Da_Bartender ⋅ July 27, 2019

My brain is like a time capsule!!

Shannonly June 19, 2019

happy birthday to you, goddess! I love that you guys are happily helping out your Dad, too!!

Valued Customer Shannonly ⋅ July 27, 2019

Thank you!!! ❤️ (Yep and I’m replying to comments over a month late! Haha)

Nin June 21, 2019

Happy belated birthday!! What a nice thing you are doing for your Dad.

Valued Customer Nin ⋅ July 27, 2019

Thank you so much! I hope he enjoys it when he can finally come home.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.