Under the influence in Just Call Me Your Lunatic Friend. Welcome To The Madness.

  • June 17, 2019, 9:18 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Many may not have an accurate view of what makes me tick. That is fine. You have no obligation to know me that intimately. However, I am going to try and give you a little clearer look into my inner workings.

I received my first drum kit on my 8th grade graduation. I played them publicly the following Sunday. I was an embarrassment that first performance, trust me.

Over the next several years I focused my attention on gleaning knowledge fromfriends who played drums throughout their childhood. I learned alotfrom them. I allso would record Christianmusic I enjoyed and my Dad would take me to the church so I could put the musicthrough the P.A.system and rehearse to the music and try to copy the various drum grooves the professional players did. With. thus practice, I quickly improved. I continued to develope my skills all the way through my 40’s until I had a stroke, preventing me playing with the loss of use of my right arm and hand. And before someone brings up the Def Leppard drummer who plays one-handed. I admire him but I do not have the resources he had to put together a custom kit to play.

I still listen to the music thatinspiredme in the early days. I will list now some of my biggest influences:

Russ Taff
Whiteheart
Mylon Lefever & Brokenheart
The Imperials
Petra
Toto
Journey
Huey Lewis & The News
Steely Dan
Led Zepplin
Phil Collins
Geenesis

And many others…

Be good HUMANS.

See ya!


DE_KentuckyGirl June 17, 2019 (edited June 17, 2019)

Edited

I LOVE Russ Taff and the Imperials!! Petra was a great one too! I, personally, would throw in Rich Mullins as a HUGE influence for me.

DE---Mr. Stix DE_KentuckyGirl ⋅ June 17, 2019 (edited June 17, 2019)

Edited

Rich Mullins was a huge one for me, as well as Bryan Duncan, StevenCurtis Chapman, and Geoff Moore and The Distance. These were huge artists that I failed to think of but that is the fault of my poor brain not any of their talents or impacts at that time of my life.

DE_KentuckyGirl DE---Mr. Stix ⋅ June 17, 2019

All good ones!

Nazdaze June 17, 2019

2nd chapter of Acts was one of my top favorites

DE---Mr. Stix Nazdaze ⋅ June 17, 2019

They were for me and Mattew Ward's solo band even moreso as a drummer to be honest.

Valued Customer June 17, 2019

The love of music is definitely a commonality I'm glad that we have. I don't recognize some of those musicians - I'm going to have to give them a listen!

DE---Mr. Stix Valued Customer ⋅ June 18, 2019

Most of those listed are pre 2000 contemporary Christian artists. I love them...heck, I was raised listening to them.

Shannonly June 18, 2019

I love drum tracks. Zeppelin, Korn, Stones (60s, 70s era albums), my beloved Crüe & STP...bliss

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.