worries in rants

  • Feb. 26, 2014, 4:04 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

At each age, we worry about something different.

When I was a small child - around 8 years old - I saw a headline on the National Enquirer at the newspaper stand - child dies of old age at 10 years old. That scared me for MANY years.

Now that I am over 60, I am worried about losing my "cognitive function". Am I forgetting things? I know that I can look at something, then have to look again because I forgot what it was within minutes.... And if something comes "in between"??? Never will I remember it.

So, when I received a letter for a cognitive test, I jumped on it! It was part of a larger study that I've been participating in for a few years already.

The woman conducting the tests was lovely, sweet, friendly and personable.

According the tests done THIS year, I have nothing to worry about. In some of the subtests, i came out above normal, one or two in the superior range. I'd done some of the tests before, but most were new. Some were VERY easy, others got harder and more stressful.

I hope they're funded for a continuing study as I'd like to know how things change over time.


Deleted user February 26, 2014

I was worried about nuclear war back in the 80s. Getting older terrifies me.

Darcy0207 from OD Deleted user ⋅ February 26, 2014

We all were! I've worried about fire and losing everything. But getting old... it's a biggie!

Spinster February 26, 2014

That's great news. I can remember as a teen my grandma misplaced her checkbook and her level of worry at the time seemed over the top. Now, of course, I realize she was worried that it was the start of losing her memory.

Darcy0207 from OD Spinster ⋅ February 27, 2014

My last year teaching - 2008 - I realized I'd forgotten the names of students I had the year before! It was time to leave... LOL.

ermentrude February 27, 2014

My memory has always been appalling! I'm vaguely good at faces but names? I have to know someone well to remember their name! X

Darcy0207 from OD ermentrude ⋅ February 27, 2014

I was good with names... till that last year. I'd learn the students' names within a week or two. Granted, I had small classes... LOL and the same students over and over. (I taught special ed.)

Deleted user February 27, 2014

You can also do this every year and bring it to your primary care physician to chart any changes: SAGE.

Darcy0207 from OD Deleted user ⋅ February 27, 2014

Since this was part of a study, I didn't have to pay for it. I have no idea how much it costs. I am hoping the study continues. It was an interesting body of subtests.

Thomas February 27, 2014

I like the idea of seizing on each opening to gain prospective on our physical health. Now who are you and why an I saying this ? Saying what ?

Darcy0207 from OD Thomas ⋅ February 27, 2014

LOL

Deleted user March 06, 2014

reassuring isn't it? so glad for the healthy cognitive check up :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.