sugar free update. in crawling into 2014.

  • Feb. 26, 2014, 3:02 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I've been asked how my sugarlessness is going and so I thought I'd copy and paste the entry I wrote on blogger this evening. X

Forgive me blogger... ...for I have sinned. NO!   I haven't eaten sugar but I've been away too long!

At first I thought that this blog could rapidly descend into boring-land as I was likely to get drawn into repetitions of "i didn't eat sugar. I feel super energetic." Ya know, it's not screaming "fun!" is it!

So... I planned to read a little. A little pro sugar some anti sugar and report on my findings and thoughts but Holy Crap there is A LOT out there in interwebs land shudders. All sincere and all contradicting each other. One thing I found interesting was a sort-of investigation done by identical twins. One gave up all sugars for a month while the other gave up all fats for the same month. Given their identical genetic make-up it should make it a fairly even test. 

Their findings were that neither option seemed better than the other and further findings showed that the big issue was with the mix of sugar and fat. Apparently it's the combination that switches off the 'I'm full now' switch in our brain. So chocolate, desserts, cakes all these things that we consider to be treats are what lead us to eat more of them.

For me it's been, what? A couple or three weeks? Something like that and I'm hardly getting cravings. I would still like a big fat slice of carrot cake but that's different from losing sight of everything until I manage to get some. 

Although my daughter came home from a trip to Cadbury World today and, in her possession were three bars of chocolate and a bag of chocolate buttons. I must confess that I dove into the larder with a teaspoon and had a mouthful of honey to  deal with wanting the chocolate!

All in all, and so far, life without sugar is going well. Of course, I may have pms to deal with - I'll let you know how that goes...


ElvenAssassin February 26, 2014

I'm so scatter brained lately. I was thinking of your blog the other night (last night, night before?) but sitting on the couch with my phone isn't my favourite way to surf, and I forget later! I was wondering how that was going for you!

Darcy0207 from OD February 26, 2014

I don't think I could go totally sugar free. I don't add sugar to either tea or coffee, but rarely read labels for "hidden" sugar. Good going!!

LivingWaterCreek February 26, 2014

I had no idea you were doing this. Good for you being proactive!

Life Is For Living February 26, 2014

Mmm.. sugar.

edna million February 26, 2014

That is interesting about the sugar/fat combo being the worst. It also makes sense. That's certainly what I want if I'm on a sugar-binge. It really seems like it doesn't take long at all to get to the point where I can just eat a small, NORMAL amount, though, if I cut way way down on it. I've read things saying that some people have to cut it totally out, but others are able to just cut way down on it and can sort of reset their cravings that way. But you're right about the insane amounts of often contradictory advice. In the end... who knows!!

Deleted user February 26, 2014

I think it's the high-fructose corn syrup and the way it overwhelms the metabolic pathways in the liver that's the problem. I've actually written about that professionally. Good rule of thumb is that the less processed something is and the closer it is to its natural form, the better. No one is going to argue against a piece of fruit. (Or no dietitian worth his or her salt would, no pun intended!)

The Tranquil Loon February 26, 2014

I think it's the yeast in our bodies that demand being fed sugar. If we get rid of the yeast we get rid of cravings and when we are eating less sugar we are starving the yeast. nice cycle. Keep up the good work!

~Twinkle~ February 27, 2014

Well done, I wonder if I should try this for Lent?...

January Child February 27, 2014

all the contradictory information really annoys me. I do think there is some addictive quality to sugar but a lot of stuff happens in the brain too and no two people are the same. So basically, you just have to read the information but just do what works for you...

Deleted user March 06, 2014

Amazing. I do love chocolate now and then too ....

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.