The Handmaid's Tale in A new start in the same life

  • June 15, 2019, 4:25 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

So I have decided that it’s easiest to write on Friday evenings when David is out gaming and the girls are in bed. That way I can break out my computer without any distractions.

Nothing really exciting is happening right now. It is basically waiting until our trips. Work has been kinda weird. Kristina jacked up my schedule something fierce. She has been writing the schedule for the Salon Manager or SM. Kristina is basically my SIL. She did not get me the job though. We actually don’t see each other very often at work. But I digress, Kristina messed around with the schedule and changed 8 of my shifts this month and a few in July. I had to update my phone and my calendar at home. It was an inconvenience mostly.

We went to the zoo today. There was a new baby gorilla. I guess the baby and the mom haven’t really bonded so there is a zookeeper who wears a vest like a gorilla and carries the baby. That would be my dream job. Gorillas are my favorite animals followed by sloths. I haven’t seen the sloths in the zoo for awhile. There was one in Lied Jungle named Sid but he died a few years back and they haven’t replaced him. He was like 41 years old or something. The girls acted all crazy. They cried because we didn’t get insanely overpriced sundaes. They switched between who was upset but eventually they started to enjoy themselves. We got to see the completed Asian Highlands. That has a variety of animals from around the Asian countries. The red panda was super high in a tree. There were some tuffed deer just hanging out. We had a super good view of the sloth bear which is adorable. Google it. The tiger was pacing right in front in the glass. The snow leopard was hiding using it’s amazing camouflage skills. I did find her between two rocks. There was a rhino out too. It was a really cool exhibit.

We got Indyanna this storage thing to use as a dresser. It has blocks that connect. Today, she got angry that she had to go to bed early that she destroyed it. I am not a fan of putting it together. I am considering just getting an actual dresser instead. I am worried that she will do this all the time and start flinging clothes around. Why can’t my kids just play with their toys?!?!

I started watching The Handmaid’s Tale. I am on the 3rd episode. It’s interesting but I am still confused. I like knowing all the facts so the flashbacks and the snippets they say aren’t enough. I will probably google the show and get all the info when I am done with this. That is my trademark. I do it with movies and shows and occasionally books. There is a reason I love history. I know lots of it already. I really just hate surprises which is weird because I love haunted houses. Different kind of surprise I suppose.

Alright, I don’t have much else to say so I better de-yellow if you will. Happy Father’s Day weekend!


DE_KentuckyGirl June 15, 2019

Read the book! Makes much more sense. I got fed up watching season 2 and won't be watching season 3. But I loved the book.

DE_*super lametastic* DE_KentuckyGirl ⋅ June 15, 2019

I have been toying with the idea of reading the book. I don't read a lot of fiction though. And that was pretentious lol

DE_KentuckyGirl DE_*super lametastic* ⋅ June 15, 2019

I had freaky dreams for weeks after reading it! Only a few books have done that to me. I am also not a huge fan of fiction. I prefer nonfiction. But if the author can make it believable, I am more apt to enjoy it.

Shannonly June 15, 2019

I tend to stop and look up info on what I'm watching, too. I'm a perpetual researching machine...

DE_karabeara June 15, 2019 (edited June 15, 2019)

Edited

I'll throw in my suggestion to read the book too! I love the show, but the first season follows the book pretty well so the show doesnt really add anything to the story. and it's a quick read. Though not a pleasant one, but neither is the show, I guess.

Deleted user June 16, 2019

I love Handmaid's Tale!! The book only goes to Season 1, maybe part of 2. After that, it's the television series carrying it on. I love it! It's hard to watch at first but really really good once you get into it!

Just Molly June 17, 2019

Another vote for read the book! The show is fabulous but only season 1 really deals with book material however season 2 (and so far 3) have felt like they do justice to the overall theme.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.