"the meek shall inherit the earth" from haredawg drools via Linda Kay in Flash

  • Sept. 2, 2013, 6:53 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

7:33

When James came home from the Sermon on the Mount, he was carrying a piece of paper. Its edges were curled and there was a wax seal affixed to the lower right hand corner.

I took it from him and took it to the window so I could read it in the fading light.

"James, do you know what this is?"

"Mom, it's the piece of paper they were giving away at the Sermon on the Mount today. I was last one to leave and I got this fancy one with the wax seal. Was I lucky?"

"Very lucky. I think this is a better deal than your friend Jack got when he sold the cow and got the magic beans."

"But Mom, Jack hasn't been to school since the Golden Goose flew the coop. I'm not sure that bean deal was such a good deal after all."

"This is different, Son. This is the deed to the earth. The whole shebang. We will be collecting rent from Pilate and Herod and Ceasar and Cleopatra. And you know they are responsible for a lot of real estate."

" Will the checks come in the mail, Mom?"

"Oh, yes, Son. I'm sure the checks are in mail."

7:43

If you'd like a prompt from me:

round bales

whole natural almonds

pale moon rising

Last updated August 10, 2013 Edit entry Delete entry

Private Comments

MJ's Page

August 10, 2013

:chuckle: Love it!

haredawg drools

August 10, 2013

Heh. Um, I think that prompt was liek listed from all the prompts on G's place, it's not mine. My favorite Onion article was that the pope was recinding the blessed staus of the meek, that they'd give them 2000 years of good faith and they haven't inherited anything and they're big whiney titty babys. They were a lot funnier about it. I mean than me.

This I like, I love that flash friday is spreading like wildfire.

Linda Kay

August 10, 2013

Excellent!

G

August 10, 2013

Ha! I linked your entry on the flash page.

witm

August 10, 2013

Thank you. I'm new and I haven't got the place all figured out yet.

G

August 10, 2013

Well, welcome to Prosebox!

NorthernTeacher

August 10, 2013

I don't get the whole Flash Friday thing. Another google search is in order. Seems to be encouraging creativity.

G

August 10, 2013

It's fun. Here are the "rules": http://www.prosebox.net/book/242/

RoseS

August 12, 2013

Nice to see you here. Great job with the flash!


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.