Baby's first ER visit! in Testing.... testing... 1, 2, 3...

  • Feb. 26, 2014, 1:15 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

With my wife back to work, we've found that switching night duty watching our infant is the best solution for us. I watched him Monday night, so last night was my turn to sleep. At around 1am my wife woke me up to say our son has a fever. It was 100.9, but she checked via armpit, which isn't as accurate as checking rectally

This is his first fever, and our first child, so I checked online what to do. Two weeks ago he had vaccines done, the doc at the told us if he has a slight fever give him Children's Tylenol and he'll be fine. That was a different scenario so I wanted to research this. Apparently if a baby under 3 months old has a temperature above 100.4, it's considered an emergency

My wife called his pediatrician to verify it's an emergency (because ER visits cost too damn much!), and he did say to go to the ER. So off we went to the ER! (nothing costs too much when it comes to our kid, haha)

I don't have to go into details about ER visits, it's pretty routine. Lots of waiting, lots of poking and prodding the patient, and lots of billing, haha.

While waiting for him to be called to get his temp and all his vitals, my wife checked us into the ER on Facebook. Yes, even ER visits are check-in worthy, haha. I guess her goal was to either A) get advice from fellow moms, or B) get sympathy and well wishes to brighten her spirits. That must be everybody's goal to ever post or check-in on FB with similar circumstances. Which begs the question, what does it mean when somebody 'likes' said posts? :P

I told my wife I wanted to comment on her check-in and say, "Baby's first fever and first ER visit! Cherish these moments!". But not everyone would find that humerous, so she said I'd have to wait until he got better to make that joke. She did find it hilarious too though, haha

moral of the story: If I am to buy into this whole "cherish every moment" philosophy spewed by every parent ever, then to exclude an ER visit would make me a hypocrite. Why do you think the traditional wedding vow says, "For better or for worse"? No loopholes for the easy way out :P

Have a Nice Day!

ps: He is getting better. Just arrived at work, wife is staying at home from work and monitoring him


Deleted user February 26, 2014

Are you guys going to take pictures and post them on Facebook too? lol

Foley is Good! Deleted user ⋅ February 26, 2014

Yes, she actually did! She said she was going to take them to put in his scrapbook for his first year (or by month, forgot how she's doing these albums), so I didn't think much of it. But yep, eventually saw she tagged me in those photos on fb!

I then joked with her how I'll make one of these pics of my son naked (except a diaper) on a hospital bed with tubes attached and bandages everywhere my cover photo for myself and everyone to see every day! :P

Have a Nice Day!

Deleted user Foley is Good! ⋅ February 26, 2014

Haha your wife is awesome. You know she's a keeper! :D

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.