Unexpectedly Inspired in Just Call Me Your Lunatic Friend. Welcome To The Madness.

  • June 10, 2019, 7:58 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I don’t know about all y’all, but I get ideas at the oddest of times. My life is nothing near where I’d had hoped it would be at this point in my life. I pictured myself happily married and a father well before now. Not handicapped and living off a disability check.

So imagine my surprise when an idea popped 8nto my head that could be a stream of income for both me and my 80 year old white haired mother who lives with me.

It has been a dream for both of us to start a business ever since my father died.

Tonight, while looking online for a recipe for my all-time favorite cookies, iced molasses cookies. I saw a listing for homemade ones on Etsy and I perked up and told mom we should open an etsy shop for cookies and other homemade treats to sell them and bring in extra money. The only would need on initial investment I in the various pots and pans to be able to make more than one batch at a time.

I really would appreciate your thoughts, advice, ideas and comments that you feel like sharing.


DE_KentuckyGirl June 10, 2019 (edited June 10, 2019)

Edited

My sister started meal prep business for a specialty diet on FB and it took off like wildfire! Depending on where you live (fairly populated or not), you may be able to use that platform as well. I've considered it for specialty items (gluten free, grain free, paleo) and homemade desserts from scratch, especially during holiday seasons, but haven't jumped in yet because I think it would overwhelm me with the cooking from scratch I already do for holidays!

But worth a try! You could do all sorts of things on Etsy!

DE---Mr. Stix DE_KentuckyGirl ⋅ June 10, 2019

Exactly. I have to be able to do everything mom would do like the baking, etc. So I would need to know every little step so I could continue the business if anything happened to mom.

Just Molly June 10, 2019

I don't have much by way of advice on the "how" to implement it but I think Uline carries things like cellophane bags etc. in bulk if you need to order them for packaging your sweet treats. Not 100% sure if home businesses selling food on Etsy need a serve safe certificate or not. You may want to look into that.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.