Dad ten yours on. in The odd entries from life …….

  • June 9, 2019, 1:05 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

D Day not a grand day.
Saturday was a lovely day with sun clear skies and warm, rather better than Friday that rained all day, from morning to night with heavy rain and dull light; a misery day with lights on from teatime.
In other areas the weather was fine for the old lads to gather once more, looking back 75 years with friends now doing few; Dad was young on that day and passed now ten years.
I can remember Dad telling me his war stories, all in home as I could not go over seas, he was in tanks but after an illness he was keep in the UK; but he a few dangers. He had been at a grand house and one night he was walking with a officer, then they heard bullets coming behind them; Dad was close to steps and budded down there.
When things had gone Dad looked for the officer, he was stand in the road with mud over him, he asked where Dad went ‘down those steps’ owe the officer told my Dad ‘you had more since than me, I jumped in that bloody ditch. As I still have Dad’s stories I think I should put them on paper or the Internet.
Alas I’m no writer or smellier, or is it speller!

07:04pm BST 09:06:2019


Marg June 10, 2019

You could maybe dictate them for the kids? I bet they'd love to hear them!

Roseyrays June 10, 2019

I enjoyed your sharing of your stories. Thanks.

jamez Roseyrays ⋅ June 11, 2019

Thank you, I must think back to the things Dad told me, there are things I know but I don't the times hapend, one thing is very stange; Dad was told to do lothing just look! This will take time and there will gaps.

If you know ... .. . ...

NorthernSeeker June 12, 2019

Sounds like your dad could think quickly.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.