Jealousy is ugly.... in This Is Me

  • June 9, 2019, 12:38 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I don’t know if it will ever get easier....
Every time I see someone have a healthy pregnancy, a healthy birth, coming home photos I feel jealousy. When I see photos of women holding their newborns on their chest with happy tears in their eyes I feel complete sadness. I feel so damn petty for it. Of course I’m happy for them but it makes me sad. Society makes you expect every birth to be such a happy time & for me it was one of the most terrifying nights of my life. I’ve spoken to other preemie moms who say it’s normal to feel the jealousy, but it makes me feel such an awful person.

He was on a ventilator at first.
alt text
Within 12 hours he was switched to CPAP.
alt text
I met my son 12 hours after he was born. I was so scared holding a baby so small.
alt text
Oren is amazing & I’m super proud to be his mom, I just wish I had that happy birth experience we all dream of having.
alt text
alt text
alt text


DE_disenchanted June 09, 2019

Aww I hope you find a way to accept those jealous feelings as totally normal - moms feel guilty enough for pretty much everything, let alone totally normal emotions!

DE_jamielynn DE_disenchanted ⋅ June 09, 2019

Yeah, it just makes me feel ugly

DE_jusjusndredre June 10, 2019

Don't beat yourself up over how you feel. You were robbed of a normal birth by Oren having to go in the NICU right away. You feelings are valid and you have every right to feel however you want. I know I'd feel the same way.

I am not a preemie mom, but I felt the same feelings when I lost Azariah. I totally get it from a different experience.

Thinking of you. ❤️

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.