last update! in crawling into 2014.

  • Feb. 26, 2014, 12:31 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I was a little tense (not immensely) after school yesterday, making sure that we had everything, at the right time. And relying on other people for timing. Lyf and Nia's mum was a couple of minutes late but I had T, L and bffn's kids in the car ready to go. Dropped the latter two at their mum's work (she was waiting at the office to scoop them up) and drove into town. The main worry was rush hour traffic but, fortunately, it was mainly heading out of town. We parked really close to the pool (not usually possible on Saturday mornings!) and ran across to our lovely old Victorian baths. Tal went to get changed while L and I went to the viewing area. The teacher did a double take when she saw us (this is one of the cool things about her - she's only ever been a stand in, yet remembers everyone!) so I explained that tal hadn't been able to differentiate between strict firmness and being cross. Her new teacher confessed that the other teacher made her feel that way sometimes! Lol.

Tal grinned throughout, did some of the best swimming that I've ever seen her do. Her front and back crawl are absolutely astounding but she's been really struggling with butterfly. By the end of the class she had managed to get the basics going!!

We did have a major tantrum afterwards because we've always let them have crisps after lessons. But we told her that we were goig home for dinner (i had roast a chicken knowing that there wouldn't be time to cook afterwards) so no crisps.

Yes, meltdown... understandably.

So I think I'll take a small pack with me for afterwards in future. It's only fair really.

She did say "i like the time and I like the teacher but I don't like no crisps." Being able to voice her issues like that is an incredible step for her so I'm happy to go with it since we've always said that we'll help her if she can tell us the problem. Anyway - she's going to Cadbury World today and has to be at school at 7:45am. So I'd better go!


Deleted user February 26, 2014

Brings back memories of my swimming lessons as a kid. Butterfly is probably the hardest stroke to master as it can be fatiguing if you don't sync your upper and lower body. It requires a lot of energy in rapid-fire bursts, kind of the squat thrust/burpee of swimming. ;-)

Darcy0207 from OD February 26, 2014

Being able to state likes and dislikes clearly as she did is a good step. I am glad you were able to discuss her feelings with the teacher in a productive manner.

thesunnyabyss February 26, 2014

I'm glad to hear things went well,

have a good day!

ElvenAssassin February 26, 2014

It would be hard to break with routine if you weren't expecting it. Very grown up of her to articulate her feelings!

~Twinkle~ February 26, 2014

Well done T! X

edna million February 26, 2014

I am very impressed with her swimming abilities! It's a wonderful thing to learn early in life. I was weirdly afraid of putting my face under water when I was a child, so I never really learned how to swim very well. I could probably save myself in an emergency, but I admire people who are good at it, AND enjoy it.

The Tranquil Loon February 27, 2014

crisp away! Glad the lesson went well

Deleted user March 06, 2014

You are a good Mom ! Exceptional really !

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.