Why not have a maximum age to run for government? in Thoughts, wishes and things

  • June 8, 2019, 12:02 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Instead of a minimum age to run for President, why not have a maximum age? It seems like those running the country ought have more skin in the game for the long-term future.

In other words, should those who can’t reasonably expect to be around for another 30 years (due to their advanced age) make decisions that could impact those who would be? I’d rather see no minimum age and only a maximum age for running for any kind of office. After all, if we as a society have a recommended age for retirement, it seems like it would be reasonable for people not to run for office after that age.

I would just have a little more confidence in leaders who have more of an interest in the long term future, not just the shorter term.

I don’t know why this bothers me so much, since I actually hate politics. I don’t know why I’m even writing about politics!! I don’t care about right wing versus left wing, I’d just like leaders for both sides to have a longer term life expectancy when they take office. That way they’re more likely to act in the long-term interests of the country instead of the short term.


Comments are closed.

No comments.

Comments are closed.