Had to regulate in Happy trails from DE

  • June 7, 2019, 12:53 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

William h. Macy, I did the thing again that I said I wasnt going to do for a while…

…I called out of fucking work.

Fml.

my poor excuse for a defence is I slept like shit, having Bateman nightmares which have become more frequent. I dont even know why, I’m not thinking about him during the day or before bed.

Plus today is mama beans field day at school and I wanted to support her since I wasnt able to make it to very many events this year.

I could have done the very responsible adult thing and requested the day off work but I’m an asshole who put it aside last minute and then completely flat out forgot about the whole damn thing.

I think if I stroke my bosses ego a little on Monday he might let me off the hook without a write up like hes been hinting at. Knowing him he will call me at some point today to check in on me and I’ll have to lay it on thick. 

So what fresh hell am I in store for today?

Being at my daughters school gives me the worst type of anxiety.

The other moms haven’t been exactly warm, and I’ve tried to infiltrate their cliques and circles to no avail.

Showing up at pick up time is hilarious…

Here I am in my dingy 2010 Kia soul (playing Warren g and Nate dog. They could never appreciate 90s gangster rap) parking next to all the teslas and Mercedes SUVs. I show up in my chef whites, little brown baby in my arms, and everyone assumes I’m the help.

The other moms form their groups, all wearing bright white tennis outfits… Gucci sandals…yoga garb…while all of the nanny’s come stand by me.

Sigh.

I feel like a sore thumb with all of my tattoos on full display, and I’m noticeably younger than most of the other women. It doesnt help that I dont look 34 at all, i couldn’t be more different. Did they all get together and plan to have kids in their late 40s? I mean man, these women are older!

And here they go talking about summer vacation, taking their kids to countries i cant even pronounce. My kid? Shes going to the Y.

Last week I came early to pick up bean so I strapped bear in his stroller and took a walk around the school while reading a book on my phone.

One of her classmates mothers was also there early so she came up to talk to me.

She started talking to bear for a little then looked up at me and the conversation went as follows:

Her: look at that hair. So.... like.... what do you do with it? Can it be brushed? Like what exactly do you do to take care of it? (Side note, wtf is up with white womens obsession with people of colors hair?)

Me: blank face

Me: well, I’m not black so it’s hard for me

Her:in a whisper so he IS black. Wow, black, can I say that? Can I say hes black, is that right?

Me: blinks twice slowly

Mind you this woman came to beans birthday party in April and i introduced A as her stepfather and brothers dad

Ugh.

Anyway.

Atleast beans dad will be here and I’ll have someone to talk to. Hes late again of course but I got here so early I was able to write this whole entry. 

Fingers crossed for a good day

Fingers crossed my boss is in a good mood

Fingers crossed I can score another free donut on this glorious national donut day when I’m done with here

In William h. Macy name, amen


lessoff June 07, 2019

I'm white, I have naturally curly hair, do you know how many old women used to come up to me and just touch my hair without asking? I think it might be a hair jealousy thing in general, at least for old white ladies.

DE_fallenandhopeless lessoff ⋅ June 07, 2019

It very well may be a common occurence but I do know it's a huge pet peeve for women of color (and even men of color) in regards to the touching. Everyone should just be more respectful 🤷‍♀️ I cant imagine people doing that to me, it must of irritated you some times!

DE_KentuckyGirl June 07, 2019

Ugh. Mom circles. I actually avoid them like the plague. Asking about black hair is curiosity, I think. My sister has a biracial step daughter whose hair is soooooo curly and she studied up about how to care for it. It looks awesome, but her white bio mom doesn't do shit with it, which frustrates my sister to no end!

DE_fallenandhopeless DE_KentuckyGirl ⋅ June 07, 2019

I was so happy when I found out bear was a boy because I have no idea what to do with African hair... at all! But unfortunately his father wont let me cut it and he wont sit still to get it braided so hes rocking the fro for now. I'm praying when it gets hotter he gives in and let's me atleast trim it. I've learned to contion and comb it in the tub plus bought a lot of leave in products for his hair type but it seems like nothing tames it
And the dreaded mom circles... I really wanted to make an attempt at it for the sake of bean atleast but after getting snubbed so many times I called it quits

DE_disenchanted June 07, 2019

Wowww, mom circles sound like a DRAG. Holy heck. I feel for you, and honestly can so appreciate trying to infiltrate those things is so hard. I think your little bean is super lucky having a mama like you, don't let those other moms make you feel otherwise.

DE_courtney. June 08, 2019

Mom circles, they can be the WORST! I volunteered to help at our daughters' Valentines Day party this year and I felt so uncomfortable. The other two moms who were there clearly had done these parties together before in previous grades. They kind of flocked together and I was trying to insert myself but finally just gave up.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.