Mr. Positive gets a new identity. in Just Call Me Your Lunatic Friend. Welcome To The Madness.

  • June 7, 2019, 12:58 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So, most of my life I have worked to portray myself as an all-around laid-back fun-loving guy without a worry in the world.. That all changed as I approached my 50th birthday two years ago.

See my life took a serious turn left of center that was completely unplanned, unexpected and, unwanted. Little did I know how drastically life had changed that moment in the morning of July 3rd, 2017 as I sat on the toilet preparing to begin my day.

I could not stand I realized and the first thought after the obvious of, “something’s wrong!” Was the thought, “am I having a stroke or something?” I wanted to shrug it off because there was no blood coming out my ears and there was no pain. There was simply this growing, gnawing fear that I was having a stroke.

I slowly slid onto the ground from the toilet seat, pulled myself into a semi-standing position and opened the door into my bedroom to where my legs gave up on me and I discovered not only could I not walk or stand, I couldn’t even crawl! “What the HELL!?” I screamed inside my head.

I dragged my limp carcass to my bed one pulled the pant which were crumpled and gathered around my ankles. I eventually was able to get to my bed and pull myself onto it where I wax able to get myself into a sitting position that gave me limited options…but options nonetheless.

I launched my self, if it could be called a launch towards the wall…err…corner where I was able to pull up into that sorta psuede-standingposition (wow I am giving myself tons of credit in this narrative but know I looked completely pathetic during all of this!)

I was finally able door to my.bedroom, get the door open, and try to yell out for.my mother to bring me her walker. She brought the walker to me through scared eyes and trying to understand why I needed the walker and why I sounded so weird. I just now asked what I sounded l8ke to hear and she said my speech was extremely slurred, slow and shake.

So I imagine me sounding like a downs syndrome Chewbacca if I am h9nest. I had an appointment that evening that I knew I was not going to be able to make so I called the young man to let him know and askh8m to tell everyone my apologies. Later he told me when I asked, he could not understand a single word I was trying to tell h8m and except for the caller i.d. on his phone he could not recognize it was me masking those weird noises to h8m on the phone.

I then called 911 so they could come look at me and tell me what was going on. I had to hand the phone to mom to communicate with them. They got here and yep my blood pressure was stupid high and they loaded me into their ambulance and to the hospital.

Sho-nuff I had had a stroke. They had to transfer me to a therapy hospital, where I had to spend more than a month. They failed to inform me until weeks later they had suspicions the room I was put into was haunted by the ghost of a younger woman who they thought lived inside the armour at the end of the room.
Umm, I am 100% dude and I admit I wanted to see her, scratch that, I prayed she would mess with me. How pathetic am I?

So now I sit all day long, and I am so thankful to Molly and Valued Customer for turning me onto this site so that I am able to interact with real live people and personalities.

Thank you for taking your time and reading this. And please feel free to comment below if you have thoughts about my experience or if reading it has conjured any questions, as k away.

Be good humans and tell someone you love that you love them and you are grateful for their presence in your life. Trust me, they need to hear it and know that to you they matter. Just don’t fake it. Be real.


Last updated June 08, 2019


Just Molly June 07, 2019

❤️
Be good to yourself too Jim.

DE_KentuckyGirl June 07, 2019

Oh wow!! So sorry for these hardships!

Valued Customer June 07, 2019

Well I for one am a big fan of yours, and you mean a whole lot to me. I am glad you are here, not only as in on this journal site with us, but HERE on this earth. <3

Shattered June 08, 2019

I’m glad you were able to get help. So did the ghost pay you a visit?

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.