Is it Really Grunge if You're Singing in the Shower? in Introduction

  • June 6, 2019, 8:12 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

My love for singing is affecting my water bill. I wish that could blame the extra water I use for my new garden -that I just started two days ago- or the huge piles of neverending laundry we produce, but I know that I caused this madness with my “just one more song…” nonsense.

Since the acquisition of both a portable, shower-safe Bluetooth speaker and my Spotify music app, my shower has become my main stage. I mean, I sing aloud elsewhere, sure, but since I have a slight struggle with stage fright, my performances are limited to very tiny audiences. (Though I do hoard far too many different varieties of shampoo and conditioner, and they have registered no complaints.)

For me, being in a household which now has been reduced to six males, including my uppity 14-year-old cat and the part-time joyful little pug (who is really my daughter’s, but since she lives across the street and works longer hours, he is usually here with his Mimi), this shower-time is my alone time. It is when, aside from the occasional door-knocks for something ridiculous, I get to be The Shower Diva of Taylor, Pennsylvania. We have two bathrooms, so I don’t want to hear that I am hogging anything.

It is somewhat fitting that I love to sing as much as I do, because my “man-friend” (“Boyfriend” seems odd for a 51-year-old), Joe, is a musician, along with being a full-time OT. He currently plays guitar and sometimes sings in two cover bands, one of which is actively doing local gigs, and the other is of late getting in a few practices when they can manage. Although he is clearly the more talented performer of the pair of us, and I will not be found on stage anytime soon, we share that love for music to the point where life seems to always have a soundtrack. If he’s not playing one of his guitars or bass, we are listening to recorded music, or I’m on my keyboards even (another thing I only do for an audience of one), and I’m singing my heart out… this household is rarely devoid of some sort of background noise during the waking hours.

As I look at this month’s water bill, I realize I have to find a new venue for my longer sets. I wonder if my audience will miss me when I start touring the kitchen coliseum, or the garden arena. Tap off, of course.


Last updated June 06, 2019


Nazdaze June 06, 2019

We sing all the time around here. Even if he is just laying on my lap pandora on. Some of my favorite memories.

Valued Customer Nazdaze ⋅ June 07, 2019

One of my favorite ways to bond with someone is through music.

lessoff June 06, 2019

I guess you do not have well water. LOL. i think if i really wanted to take a long shower id be out of water by the 30 minute mark. but i don't have a water bill.

Valued Customer lessoff ⋅ June 07, 2019

LOL nope... My family would be quite annoyed with me. Well, more than usual! ;-)

Rista June 06, 2019

It never even occurs to me to sing... and Scott use to sing constantly, and it bugged me. I wonder if he still does it and I've just gotten use to it? or if he quit?

Valued Customer Rista ⋅ June 07, 2019

Awwww! Maybe he was serenading you??

DE_JustMiranda June 06, 2019

The garden would be a much better and cheaper alternative. Beside, they say plants grow better when talked to so it’s a win-win :)

Valued Customer DE_JustMiranda ⋅ June 07, 2019

Good point! I will have to serenade them! ;-)

Shannonly June 06, 2019

Sing time is important. Settled.

Valued Customer Shannonly ⋅ June 07, 2019

Agreed! Lets it all out!

DE_Da_Bartender June 06, 2019

The part about the bottles not complaining made me giggle.

Valued Customer DE_Da_Bartender ⋅ June 07, 2019

;-)

DE---Mr. Stix June 06, 2019

You can look at it as a savings. While you are not in a tracking session, you haven't tied thousands of dollars in recording equipment trying to replicate the sound your bathroom harbors with all its hard, reflective (for sound anyway) that produce that l9vely reverb that seduces all of our inner rocks stars out to play. And if you ever do come to need aa recording engineer, give me a call.

Valued Customer DE---Mr. Stix ⋅ June 07, 2019

You know it!! ;-)

Valued Customer DE---Mr. Stix ⋅ June 07, 2019

You know it!! ;-)

Chelez June 06, 2019

I love to sing. My car gets all my attention. FYI. I call myself Mimi to my sons dog too. LOL

Valued Customer Chelez ⋅ June 07, 2019

If I drove, I would be on tour!!

DE_courtney. June 06, 2019

Singing is the best! You belt your lungs out at those bottles, I'm sure they will be requesting an encore :) I love singing in the car when I'm by myself. I can rock out like no other and it rejuvenates me. Recently my kids have been losing their minds during our morning routine (I take the younger 2 to my sister's and the older 2 to the bus stop)…. so I play Heavy Metal Baby Shark. They lose their minds and we have the best 2-3 minute rock concert ever.

Valued Customer DE_courtney. ⋅ June 07, 2019

Pick me up! I want to join!! LOL

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.