Knitting: First I was disgruntled, but I'm gruntled again in Creations

  • July 18, 2013, 7:15 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Did you know that "gruntled" is actually a word? True story; to be capable of being disgruntled, one must also be capable of being gruntled. To be gruntled means that one is pleased, satisfied, and content. I was not pleased, satisfied, or content with that other place. Now that there is this place and quite a few of my favs from the other place have at least reserved a spot here, even if they haven't started writing, I'm not going to aggravate myself by attempting to write on OD when it is being like it was being early this morning.

Enough with that complaining. It's been a good day, a relaxing day. I enjoyed coffee on the patio, finished a book I've been wading through, had lunch with my sister and my friend, Alex, then a marathon of watching "The Walking Dead" on Netflix with Alex. More accurately, he watched, I knitted. Here's a photo of the socks I finished yesterday ~

DSC04578

Both socks were knitted at the same time on two size US 2 circular needles out of Berroco Comfort Sock yarn. It's the only way to knit anything in the round, as far as I'm concerned. Double pointed needles are a pain in the ass.

I love the Berroco Comfort series of yarns. They can have a tendency to split if you aren't careful, but the garments are so soft and yummy when you're finished. Plus, they don't have to be babied when laundered.

I'm working on another pair of socks today, but I'm ready to work on something different. Maybe some hats or a sweater.

Just another average day in my life. No big deals.


Lyn July 18, 2013

Glad you are gruntled and had a pleasant day.

I love the socks.

Linda Lyn ⋅ July 18, 2013

Me too, Lyn. I'm really glad you're here.

Deleted user July 18, 2013

Yeah, I'd still strike "gruntled" in a manuscript unless the author was trying to be funny. It's a made-up word; my OED says it's a back-formation from "disgruntled", and the originator was P. G. Wodehouse: ‘He spoke with a certain what-is-it in his voice, and I could see that, if not actually disgruntled, he was far from being gruntled’.

^^^Sorry. It's my job.

Nice socks, especially considering that they were knitted with zombie mayhem in the background.

Linda Deleted user ⋅ July 18, 2013

Ahhhhh, thank you for that lesson. :) If I ever use gruntled again, I'll make sure it is when I'm trying to be funny. ;)

Deleted user Linda ⋅ July 18, 2013

Ha! Sorry, Linda. Occupational hazard! There's no delete button on notes, and trust me, I looked for one after I'd typed that.

Linda Deleted user ⋅ July 18, 2013

No worries. I'm not that thin-skinned and I did learn something.

Deleted user Deleted user ⋅ July 18, 2013

You are a kind and gracious person. Thank you.

Deleted user July 18, 2013

Love the socks!!! I am so going to find a way to use gruntled now! Oh, my auto spell checker underlined gruntled. That time, too!!! Ha!

Deleted user July 18, 2013

Interesting, reading the notes re: gruntled. I just Googled it and an example of its use was: "were gruntled with a good meal or conversation."

Deleted user Deleted user ⋅ July 18, 2013

OED is rock. Merriam-Webster is scissors. Common sense is paper.

simple mind July 18, 2013

Prosebox: gruntling OD people since June 2013. ;-)

SweetMelissa July 19, 2013

oh my gawd, Linda. They are beautiful!!! I love them! Especially the ruffle edge. The colors are great too.

RoseS July 30, 2013

I've always liked the socks... trudgers, yes? I've been thinking about learning to knit just to make some. I have such a low threshold of boredom though, i'm afraid it would just be one more thing i started.

haredawg drools August 06, 2013

Dang it, I was rifling through the notes to see if Zombie Mayhem is a real textile pattern name. I mean I really like the socks, but, you know, I don't want to fall behind on my textile names.

Ah I learned my lesson about deleting though. That's a carpet, or a really flat short haired poodle. Hmmm, glad I'm not driving.

woman in the moon August 28, 2013

I love your socks.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.