After A Long Time in The Common Room

  • May 31, 2019, 9:04 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Too much back story. Husband has fallen several times. Had a brain bleed about a year and a half ago.. Fell twice two weeks ago. Broken Hip. Surgery. Has had cognition and speech problems. Came out of anesthesia with no cognitive function. Woke {?} yesterday. Prognosis unknown. Am alone (kids with him). . Blind - On oxygen - Making each day, barely. Honestly, scared out of my freaking mind.


MageB May 31, 2019

I am so sorry to read this. Please call your doctor and tell him you need help now. There's assisted living and nursing homes. Both will bring you help at the push of a button. This is really not ok...it is frightening Please keep us posed. All you really need is your chair and your computer.
We love ya.

Mystery May 31, 2019

So sorry! Hugs!

ODSago June 01, 2019 (edited June 01, 2019)

Edited

Katren, I am so concerned for you and so sorry about your husband's grave condition. You need someone with you just to talk to and get hugs from, I'd think. Can you arrange anything like that?...I think back to when Kermit was so ill and I remember the feelings I had. Your situation seems even harder than mine was then. Breathe in and exhale. Often. In spite of all, I tried to find something to remember as an unexpected pleasure in each day. Usually was something really small: a ray of light through a window. A bubble floating through a tube of medicine hanging beside a bed. Music. A bird's call. Strange how these allowed me to breathe more easily. Perhaps your personal physician could assist you in getting someone to be with YOU you daily, even for a visit...social service sorts of visits... or should you be a candidate, meals on wheels...etc. I will hold you in my heart and your family too. Please come here and write a few words often. Do you know exactly what you are afraid of or about? Wondering but if you don't want to share that I understand. Sometimes my saying things, ones that are on my mind or scaring me, aloud helps me a list of things I can do or find out or ask for and that allows me to move forward. Hugs. I'm not sure I remember your entire limitations...eye sight and mobility I believe. Right? Oh, Life calls on us for so much without it being something we think we can bear, doesn't it? Damn hard!

Marg June 01, 2019

Oh goodness that's not good at all! Can you request some daily help to come in and give you a hand? Or just have someone be with you for a little while every day or few days - that would make a big difference? It must be so frustrating that you can't write freely in here due to your eyesight but please update us - even briefly - if you can. I hope things take a turn for the better for you and your husband soon.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.