Chapter 3: Mirage in Chronicles of Droddrik

  • June 4, 2019, 10:12 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I wake up with a strange feeling in my gut and my head seems to be in a vice. What was last night? I know that while it was happening, and hearing those voices that it was as real as it can get, but clearly nobody was in my room. My mouth is extremely dry and my muscles are hurting everywhere. Something doesn’t seem to be right about how quiet our house is. I go to my closet to get dressed and then put on my boots. There is a small coat of dust on my boots and on my desk next to my bed, Mother must be behind on getting to our rooms for cleaning during the day, I’ll just clean up later, so she doesn’t need to worry about my room. I open up my door and walk into the living room.
I see things that don’t make sense, the living room is half torn off our house, the outside sun is pouring in and our living room is a shell of what it used to be. My dad’s rocking chair is broken and on the ground in pieces, the kitchen is completely gone and only earth is where the floor used to be and it’s as open as if I just walked out of a store on main street.
“Mom?! Dad?!” I yell out, hoping for some answer. “Martha, Peter!?!” I frantically scream. I am only greeted with silence. I turn to my right and sprint down the hallway that leads to all their bedrooms, first I look at the bedroom on the left, where Pete and Marty share a room and sleep on a double bed, one stacked on another. It’s empty, the roof was ripped off and almost everything in here is gone, the beds, the toys, everything. I drop to my knees with the feeling of dread and horror of what could of possibly happens. Could this of been a twister? What else could do this in nature? How did i sleep through this? Maybe Mom or Dad are still here and haven’t heard me, with that last thought I got back up and turn around quickly to open my parents room door that’s directly across the hall from my siblings room. Their room is completely gone, from where the door is opened and first step into their room, there is nothing but dirt and upturned rocks. The walls are gone along with mothers desk and bed, there is nothing here. I put my hands on my head and just think about how any of this is happening, how are they all gone? how are their rooms torn up so much and I never heard a thing all night when I slept. This is madness, this.. this is a joke, surely. I walk back and forth through all the rooms looking for anything to give me a hint of where they went. Nothing seems to catch my eye at first, but then as I was sitting down looking at Dad’s room, I noticed some green weeds poking up through the newly upturned dirt that was once the center of their room floor. I realized that there is no possible way that this weed just grew overnight and furthermore the amount of dust in my room, it would take a week for any dust like that to settle down on my desk or boots. How long have I been sleeping? I think to myself Have I really been sleeping, or was this another episode of those blackouts I’ve been getting during the day, but this time, it was much worst, and much longer.
“The barn!” I say aloud and stand up so fast that I forgot about the doorway frame and smack the top of my head. The sting from that is immediate and hurts like ten bee’s just stung me in the same spot. I push down that stinging feeling and tell myself pain is temporary, I need to run to the barn now, I’ll deal with the lump on my head later. I arrive in the barn to see that everything is exactly how I left it, nothing is out of place, and worse of all, nobody is there. I turn around to face our broken home and see a perfectly put back together home i grew up in, everything is back to its place. what…is going on here? surely I’m losing my mind now.
“What in the shadows” I manage to say in awe of what I’m seeing. Was I just hallucinating that whole destruction?!, I start to run back towards the entrance of the kitchen from the back porch and as soon as I am within spitting distance of our door, it all returns. Everything I saw before, the destruction, is still exactly as I last left it. The door right in front of me disappears and the walls are gone and I’m staring directly into the once was Living room and now a shell of a room that barely seems to stand, except for the wall with my door on it, the fireplace and hall leading to the others rooms, that wall is still very much all intact. That wall, still has candle sticks on top of the shelving that dad put up a few winters ago, with mother and fathers ceremonial wedding cup still there and unfettered by the horrors and destruction around it.
I walk around and touch everything to prove that this is real, and that.. that false image of our untouched home, is the fake. How is this possible, I double and triple check this over and over till I am convinced that what I’m seeing, smelling, touching, is all real.
perhaps, this is all connected to my intruders that were in my thoughts the other night, I am now certain that this was longer ago, than just one night ago, when they came in my room and talked to me. Too much has taken place here for it to only of been one night, somebody or something, had control of my senses and I was unable to help my family survive this, this made me think of how I couldn’t talk, how everything was a little too quiet, the red moon, the voices about going to Toor.
I go back into my room and sit on my bed, my perfect untouched bedroom bed and wonder about everything that I’m slowly coming to terms on.
For one thing, I no long believe that this was some twister that I slept through, this is something more than I’ve ever heard of or even encountered, and something I yet don’t understand, secondly there is nothing I’ve ever seen before that can make you see something that’s not real, like what’s happening just outside of my house. This is the work of the darkness, surely, but why? why my home? why my family? why was I missed, how did I go unnoticed by this event?
I stand up and think that I have no time to waste, I have no directions in which to go except for what the voice told me the other night. That deep authority that seemed to be in control of the situation, to have a clear understanding of what he was doing, and yet, not even be in my room physically. “He said to come to Toor, just after the blue hills, then this is where I’ll go, I need answers and I’m not leaving without them! I’m not giving up, whoever you are, you forgot to take me too, and you will regret it” I say this with all the strength and determination in my body.


Last updated June 20, 2019


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.