Chapter 2: Nightly Whispers in Chronicles of Droddrik

  • May 30, 2019, 3:17 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

My house seems to go quiet fast after I go into my room and lay down on my bed, I face up at the ceiling and stare. Amazing to think that will now be part of all the adult decisions in our home, I thought about this as I closed my eyes. I was soon distracted by the fact that my father will no longer be with us in a few days, I need to find a way to stop this, to cure him. There must be a way, I will find a way, I can’t just sit by and watch him die, I can’t accept the fact that Mother knows everything about medicine. I close my eyes thinking of all the places I can go tomorrow down in town and see what medicines I can get and try to mix.
“Are you sure this is the one” a faint female voice interrupts my thoughts, I believe it came from in my room, my eyes open and I sit up with unnerving speed and start to scan my room from front to back.
“who’s in my room? Pete? Martha?” I say with my new adult like firmness. I then realize that maybe they’re scared and just need somebody tonight.
“I can take you back to your room or you can sleep next to me if you just come over here” I say, hoping they’ll step out into the moon light that’s beaming through my window.
There’s no answer and I start to wonder if I heard anything at all. I inhale a long breath and sigh at the fact that I’m probably just over tired. I look out my window that’s over my bed and look to our families corn field that lays right past our small yard and then see the full moon in the sky.
The moon is really big I thought, and it’s really red? I question my thoughts again as I stare at this huge red moon, this isn’t real, I’ve never seen the moon like this. I just smile and think about how Pete would love to see this, he has always been fascinated with the moon, even when he was just a little toddler running around. Pete would say “Dada Moon!” to Father as he pointed up in the sky. Dad always enjoy those days, and we all used to laugh as Pete would repeat it over and over and point to it.
“I’m losing it” I whisper to myself as I just chuckle and lay back on my bed. My head starts spinning and hands start to tingle as if I was sitting on them all day and the rush of blood is going back into my fingers. I hate this feeling, I start to open and close my hands as I close my eyes to try to forget about my random nausea and go back to sleep.
“OK, now. Do it now” a male voice says in my room.
I bolt upright in my bed, I know for a fact now that I heard that. This was a different voice this time, but none the less it was a voice. I open my mouth to tell this intruder to get out of my room, to show themselves, but when I try, nothing happens. I keep trying to talk, to force the words out and the air escape my mouth, but it’s silent, not even the air passing over my teeth or lips make any noise.
What is going on!?! This is impossible! I look around my room and then realize that maybe they are in my closet! I immediately try to sit up but then I am forced back down to my bed, right onto my back with a great weight on my chest, looking down, I see nothing.
What is holding me!? Why can’t I move
“my, my, what a strong one he is” I hear a sweet feminine voice say quietly, she reminds me of my cousin Sarah. Her voice is sweet, but she seems to always be judging people.
“As I said, it’s him. Let’s be quick about it, our time is very limited” a deeper voice cuts off the first in a much more authoritarian style.
“yes, yes. Our time is short now and he is conscience” she says back at him.
A few minutes of silence go by and I can’t hear anything, not even faint noises of crickets or wind outside. I look from side to side thinking whoever they are, I will make them get out of my room, out of our house!, I still can’t move though, this weight is odd, it’s almost like there is no weight at all on my chest, but the second I lift myself up or even try to, the weight bares down on me like a huge man putting his hands on me and pushing down into my bed until I stop struggling against it, which is exactly what I do as soon as I’m aware of how to stop that feeling.
“Finish it now! We have no more time, I can’t hold it, we’re slipping” the man says in an urgent but quiet manor to the girl who must be with him and whatever it is she’s doing in my room.
“I.. will” I struggle to get out of my mouth before I’m cut off by complete silence, and only air escapes my mouth again. So much for saying that I will find them, I thought to myself.
“Are you joking, how is he able?!” the female’s voice shuddering with almost exasperated excitement.
“You have five seconds” the man cuts her off.
“I’m done, I’m done, just calm down, I’m curious in him” she replies
“Dan!” The man raises his voice for the first time. My eye dart to where I think his voice is coming from, but surprisingly, it seems to be right above me, where there is clearly nobody. I frantically look around as he continues to talk to me.
“Listen carefully, as I only have a few seconds” he says with urgency. “You must find us, west past the blue hills, find the city of Toor and wait at the Legend Oak.” his voice fades away as if he was talking to me on a wagon that was strolling away from me at a great speed. Before he seems to be completely gone, I hear him say something else.. I can’t make it out but it sounds like “drowned Rick” I don’t know anybody named Rick here in our town, nor would I consider drowning him.. How weird of a command to give somebody that you’ve been holding down for the last few minutes. Why would he tell me where to go to find him? This is all very confusing.
I immediately feel free and I can sit up in my bed. I jump out and go straight to my closet with fists clenched. It’s empty, the moon light is dimming and I notice that only a sliver of the red moon is left to see. I grab my lantern next to my bed and light it and continue to look for these voices that were surely in my room. There is no way, I imagined this!
I did about five different checks around my room, my window is closed, my door is closed, my bed is on the floor unlike my brother and sister, so I have no “under the bed” to check, I looked in my closet again and all I find are spare clothes and a few tools that I should of put back in the barn a week ago, but keep forgetting.
I’m losing my mind, I need to get back to sleep, I have a long day ahead of me tomorrow. With that last thought I lay back on my bed and close my eyes. I’m officially an grown for one night, and already things are weird and explainable. I wonder if I can even talk to Mom about this, will anybody understand this? Is this normal and just nobody decided to say anything to us as a child? Maybe I was just making it all up and hearing things, just like I’m losing track of time during the day, Mother has talked about such people she used to care for, hearing voices, seeing people that weren’t actually there. The kinds of stuff that usually didn’t happen, unless you were old or had a lot of it already in your family history. Maybe that’s it, I’ll ask her tomorrow about our extended family and if we have these issues, then I won’t sound completely mental and on top of all that, Mom loves talking about medical stuff from her past, so this will be easy and she won’t ask questions.
This seems to satisfy my mind and I start to think of happier times with my family and our picnics we have had out in our fields just after a harvest. Everything freshly cut, sun was beaming, leaves were turning colors and all five of us just sitting in our field laughing to a game of dice. A small smile forms on my face as I drift off to forget my weird night of voices.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.