Family birthdays in Back entries: 2013 - 2015

  • Feb. 24, 2014, 10:58 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

My cousin, E, had her twenty first birthday recently - she had a long weekend at home from university, and had a party. Quite a few of her friends and some of our family were there. Aside from her immediate family, my uncle D (who I've not spoken to in five years) turned up. As did his first son, and my brother and sister in law. One photo shows his hair beginning to thin a little at the front...he's going to turn 32 later this year.

D appears to have aged quite a bit over the last five years, since I saw him last. Upon adding his second ex-wife to my facebook friends list, I was a little shocked to read her allegation on his not helping out that much with financing their two children's hobbies. Apparently he'd turned round and said "well, they're not living with me. So why should I?" A few people commented the same thing I thought - they're his kids too.

E's mother looks more like my grandmother in every new photo I've seen of her.

When I emailed Mum yesterday, I mentioned E turning 21. Mum reckons she's feeling really old now. She reckoned she just felt "old" nearly four years ago - "I can't believe one of my children's 30 now." She's going to feel her age even more so in around ten to twelve years from now, when both her children hit forty.

I am waiting for Mum to log on to Skype in around ten minutes...she's having the day off work to get some work done on her house.

I've not slept properly the last few days. It takes ages for me to drift off to sleep. Then I wake up in the early hours of the morning for a couple of hours, before drifting off to sleep again.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.