Another election and my birthday. in The View from the Terrace

  • May 24, 2019, 6:13 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Theresa May has resigned at last. Listening to her resignation speech, I felt quite sorry for her. I have never voted Conservative but I don’t dislike Mrs May. It always seemed to me that she took on a very difficult job and did her absolute best to fulfill her promises. The result of the referendum may have been a majority to leave the European Union, but only just and I think Theresa May was trying to please both sides by getting a deal, and it simply wasn’t possible. I admire her for standing up for what she believed in and doing her absolute best. I wonder who will follow her, they are saying Boris Johnson. Now I like Boris but I really don’t feel he is prime minister material. Tony loves him. He has never voted in his life but he says if Boris was leader of the Conservative party he would vote for him.

It seems to be all voting lately. We had council elections 3 weeks ago and yesterday we voted in the European elections because we are still in the EU. Hubby told someone at his art group that he was going to vote Green. The man said that if he did he would never speak to him again. Now I really don’t understand this attitude. I have fairly strong opinions on politics and on other things, but I would never stop talking to someone because they didn’t agree with me. What is the point in that?

We have been enjoying the Chelsea Flower Show all week, on the TV of course, though I would love to go in real life. We nearly did once when we were living in London. It is in my birthday week and it was all planned for us to go on my birthday, but then I developed a migraine and just didn’t feel up to it. In those days I didn’t get migraines so often so it was really bad luck.

Chelsea still coincides with my birthday which was on Wednesday. I try not to think too much about the age that I have reached and just celebrate that I am here. We went out to our folk club on Tuesday, it was quite an evening, 17 musicians turned up and we had a great time. So I didn’t feel much like another big day, just a drive with Hubby. We were going to go to the little outdoor tearoom that we discovered when we climbed the Skirrid a couple of weeks ago to have a coffee and cake and buy the little fox statue that Hubby had promised me. I knew they were open 6 days a week but I couldn’t remember which day they closed. When we arrived we found it was Wednesdays! I asked Hubby to stop for a moment so that I could look through the gate to see if they still had the fox and a woman came up to tell us the were closed Wednesdays. We explained that we had wanted to buy the fox statue and asked if they still had it. She immediately opened the gate and let us in. So I got my fox and he looks just perfect hiding between the hydrangea and the fuchsia spying on Jemima Puddleduck!
alt text

We decided to go the a nearby garden centre for a coffee and cake afterwards.

Chris had asked me what I wanted the day before. I had been planning to get a ceanothus for the corner of the garden by the shed but hadn’t got around to it so I said I would like one for my birthday. He arrived the next day with two because he didn’t know which variety I wanted. One is the shrub type that I had been thinking about but the other is a tall delicate one that can be trained up a wall. I absolutely fell in love with it. It is called Italian skies. I am trying to decide where I am going to put it.
alt text
It’s still in it’s pot and is about 18 inches tall at the moment. The label says it will grow to 5 feet x 10 feet.

Cat sent me a pretty glass medallion with a dandelion seed frozen inside. It’s beautiful, though I had to laugh because Hubby had spent the previous afternoon getting rid of the dandelions in the garden.
alt text

Tony gave me an M & S voucher so I can go to town soon and treat myself.

I took this photo of the clouds from our living room on my birthday. I thought it was amazing.
alt text


Deleted user May 24, 2019

Happy Belated Birthday ! I would love to go to the Chelsea Flower show !

DeadAir May 24, 2019

Like or dislike May, she had one job to do and it really wasn't even a job. Get an agreement on brexit or exit the EU without a deal. Those were the instructions handed to her by a majority of the electorate. She failed to do the former and she choose not to do the latter despite the mandate provided to her. I quite liked may, reminded me a bit of Thatcher, but she was a worthless politician.

Marg May 25, 2019

Happy Belated Birthday! I'm loving your fox!
I kinda feel sorry for Theresa May too - she got a rough deal in her time and she did the best she could.
That photo of the clouds IS amazing - I have so many photos of cloud formations in my phone it's ridiculous!
If hubby had only known he could have bunged one of his dandelions in a pendant and voila! One birthday present haha!

Apple Crumble May 26, 2019

Pretty photos, happy belated birthday.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.