hearing voices in rants

  • Feb. 24, 2014, 8:46 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I've been hearing voices in my head for decades. They ONLY come when I am playing computer games. I never get them otherwise. They are NOT thoughts, and are often in an accent not my own.

They started as "background noise" - as if I'd walked into a party and could hear chatter (started with Yiddish accents), but nothing specific. It developed into African American vernacular, Caribbean speech, other ethnic background sounds, but still no specific words.

It is ALWAYS random... not directed at me, to me.

For example: "Do you want me to take the call, or what?" in a young, whiny, petulant, female voice.

i sometimes hear the voice of a person who used to be a close friend, but it is NEVER starting a conversation with me or expecting a response from me. The best way I can describe it is if you're walking down a crowded street and hear the conversation of someone walking by you, going the opposite direction.

The voices can be male or female; there's no rhyme or reason. I wonder if it's some form of echolalia - the brain repeating what was heard on television... could be days before.


Deleted user February 24, 2014

everyone is a little schizo. I hear music wen I hear almost inaudible continuous noises. but the music doesn't stop and I have no control over it, very different than just hearing a tune in your head.

brain = fascinating.

Deleted user February 24, 2014

wow, interesting. i do hear voices sometimes, but it's always me saying unflattering things to myself or some sort of far off repeat of a parent or some other critical figure from the past.

Darcy0207 from OD Deleted user ⋅ February 25, 2014

Only once did I hear my mother. She was amazed that I was doing something... as if I were incapable of completing that task.

ThoughtsAfter February 27, 2014

I have a similar experience when I hear for a steady amount of time only the whirring of a fan.

Darcy0207 from OD ThoughtsAfter ⋅ February 27, 2014

Hmm. I wish someone could explain it to me. It's been developing and changing over the years, but going on for MANY years. Hope all is well.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.