behold the fashionista, at war with her ensemble in shiny things

  • Feb. 24, 2014, 3:40 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I've gotten into a very bad habit of wearing the same clothes to work all the time. Mostly because I've managed to gain like ten pounds so NOTHING FITS, dammit, and I'm certainly not going to go out and buy bigger clothes. So I'm pretty much limited to a pair of black jeans that are verging on too tight but are not quite there yet, a pair of grey jeans (with sparkly back pockets! And weirdly, they're kind of too big so are always sliding down uncomfortably and potentially dangerously if I do things like, oh, lean over to get something out of my car. Or pick up something out of the floor. Or move at all), and a pair of dark blue jeans that are really not appropriate for Not-Casual-Friday but fortunately nobody really cares. So I'll rotate those around Monday-Thursday, and on Casual Friday I'll wear actual not-remotely-dressy blue jeans.

I've also got this weird pair of stretchy strangely-colored, kind-of-brown, kind-of-reddish pants that I pull out once in awhile. They are on the tight side too (SIGH) but only in the waist so look okay, but aren't that comfortable. And I am all about comfortable, so I only resort to them when I'm so sick of the usual rotation that I'm ready to set fire to my closet. Like today. (Yes, losing those annoying ten pounds would be a much better option than The Clothing Wars and looking like a hobo, but I am far too busy lying around on the couch stuffing my face, drinking beer, and avoiding exercise at all cost for that. Thanks so much.)

SO. I decided that today I would try to not look so scroungy and homeless, and I'd wear the weirdly-colored, not-comfortable but decent looking pants. And this shirt that my MIL gave me awhile back. This shirt that's ... unusual. Unfortunately I can't really decide if it's unusual in a good way or unusual in a Crazy Lady way. It's dark red, resembles a sweatshirt in fabric and feel, but has these... ornaments... down the front. Three decorative metal interlocking clasp things.

Okay, okay. I will share my look. I really don't know why I am glaring, but it may be because I'm afraid I look like a hostess in a Chinese restaurant.

enter image description here

So, there you go. I debated but ended up wearing it anyhow (I even asked Baker B's opinion - "Crazy or not crazy?" and he voted for not that crazy. After expressing amazement that I was desperate enough to ask HIS opinion on my wardrobe choices.)

But that's not even the best part!!! Or the really REALLY crazy part!

I also decided, in keeping with the slightly elevated fashion choice, to wear some boots that I never ever wear. I don't know why I don't wear them, other than they never seem to go with anything else I'm wearing. Like hobo-clothes. So (running late of course) I grab the boots and pull them on and take one quick glance in the mirror to make sure they look okay with the pants, which are a tad on the short side. They looked passable, so off I went.

Walking to the car, I found myself thinking that I really REALLY need to wear heels more often, as I seemed to be having an inordinate amount of trouble walking in them. And they are LOW heels, like an inch and a half tops. Which seemed strange, but, whatever! I was late!!

Walking to the office from my car, I thought, "This is pathetic!!! I can't believe how uncomfortable I am walking in these teeny little heels!! What is wrong with me?? Have I become such a fashion disaster that I can't walk in anything but SNEAKERS???"

Going up the stairs was even worse, and walking down the hallway to the office I feared like I looked drunk, stumbling along like a six year old in stilettos.

And then I looked down at my feet. I really should have done that earlier.

Like before I left the house. (Apparently I only looked at one of them in the mirror).

I was wearing Two.Different.Boots.

They were very similar in color! But one was a boxy toe and one was a pointy toe, and, what certainly should have been the dead giveaway WAY before it was, the Wrong Boot's heel was TWICE the height of the Right Boot's heel.

YES. There was a very good reason why I was having problems walking, and it wasn't just my lack of practice wearing heels. On the plus side, my workmates were highly amused, which is always nice first thing on a Monday morning. As I had to turn around and hobble right back home and exchange one Wrong Boot for two Right Boots.

This is exactly why I never ever dress up.


PepperGrape February 24, 2014

LOL! Oh man, been there!

Satine February 24, 2014

Ha, I can't vouch for the shoes but I like the top. You're so cute too, even scowl-y, I don't think I ever have seen a picture of your face before!

Eriu February 24, 2014

I'm clean when I go to work. That's about all the effort I put into it. No one really ever sees me, and if they do, it's from the waist up anyway, so I don't know why some of our higher ups insist on business attire (the others wear jeans like the rest of us). I like the top. If I had one like that it would sit in my closet for when I needed something nice, which is practically never.

ermentrude February 24, 2014

Hubby is looking at me strangely as I cackle with laughter!! So funny! X

Lyn February 24, 2014

I like the top and am laughing over the boots.

Kelly February 24, 2014

That's hilarious!

But I do love that top.

The Diva of Dorks February 24, 2014

i love the shirt, i'd definitely wear that

and lol about the boots...that sounds like something i'd do

FallingDog February 24, 2014

Oh lord, I've gained a bunch of weight, too, and seem to be able to wear nothing but the dreaded Tunic and Leggings combo -- in several different iterations -- every single day.

At first I read "Chinese homeless," not "hostess." I think I need to go to bed. The top is actually kind of cute for an MIL top.

edna million FallingDog ⋅ February 26, 2014

What?!? You never gain weight!! Well, I don't feel quite so bad now. Tunic and Leggings Combo sounds pretty darned good.

FallingDog edna million ⋅ February 26, 2014

Menopause has kicked. My. Ass. So yeah, the pounds have crept on. But I'm on a mission to dump every single one of them.

noko February 25, 2014

My B-I-L did something similar with shoes last term and it was his students who noticed and laughed and laughed.

The top is flattering.

I am terrible about buying clothes but I have had to have some pretty serious discussions with my closet and my mirror about what really fits and what doesn't anymore. I had to resort to moving all the clothes that actually really fit to one part of the closet and stay away from the rest unless it is the weekend or I am walking the track or something. I just somehow managed to miss out on that gene. My sister has it enough for both of us. She is much more interested in my clothes then I am.

edna million noko ⋅ February 26, 2014

I love to buy clothes, but only when I am at an, ummm, lower weight. My closet is packed with stuff that will fit when I do get around to losing the 10 pounds. I'm very bad to want to wear baggy stuff, though, because... comfort!!!

Deleted user February 26, 2014

I like your top, in fact I'm wondering whether I could make something like that myself. I wonder whether the clasps are metal, nd if so are they a weight mis-match with the fabric of the top, and why am I asking you when I will have to choose for myself .. honestly, why do I stay up late? I had to laugh about the shoes. I wore slippers to work once, but fortunately ??? had a hideously uncomfortable pair of actual shoes at work .. I suffered all day.

edna million Deleted user ⋅ February 26, 2014

The clasps are metal, and they are heavy, but the fabric is very thick and heavy too so it matches pretty well. It's kind of a sweat-shirt like fabric, thick and fleecy. Which isn't very dressy, although the clasps are, so that made it seem a little strange too. One potential problem was that I think they will come unclasped... one did, but luckily it was the middle one and not the bottom one. I'm not sure how to fix that.

Going Gentle Into That Good Ni February 26, 2014

LOL! That sounds like something I WOULD DO (having worn two different shoes on many occasions in my life). I think the shirt looks okay, but I had to laugh that you would resort to asking Baker B for fashion advice. That's like...well, asking me for fashion advice! :-)

edna million Going Gentle Into That Good Ni ⋅ February 26, 2014

Well, hi!!!!! I was thinking, boy that name sounds so familiar....

Baker B was pretty shocked too. I always miss Kim when I am having a Fashion Issue, because she has excellent fashion sense and knows how to give it wisely.

I'm surprised I don't do that more often with the shoes- I do recall when I was in college, looking down at my feet when I was halfway to class and seeing two different tennis shoes. At least when you're in college you can pretend you meant to do that, because you're creative.

Spinster February 26, 2014

LOL. I think the shirt is pretty.

Marg March 04, 2014

That's hilarious! And I would have been thinking exactly the same thing as I hobbled along!

But we need another shot with a smiley face - that's a scary one. (The expression that is not the face :D)

Redcat March 04, 2014

i thought you were giving me the evil eye, hahaha! nice outfit!! anyway, i'm a little lost here. where is the "add friend" button?

edna million Redcat ⋅ March 08, 2014

I'm losing it-- I could have SWORN I answered this! You probably have figured it out by now. The "add friend" and "add bookmark" buttons are right under the user's little profile picture circle thing on their home page. What confuses me is that they turn green if the user is already your friend, but say the same thing. They are grey if you're not friends already. Well, mine are grey- I guess it depends on your color scheme.

edna million Redcat ⋅ March 08, 2014

Okay, this is weird. I thought I'd already answered this, and now I KNOW I just did, but there is no answer here....

edna million Redcat ⋅ March 08, 2014

And that one did show up. ANYHOW, you probably figured out the add friend button is right under the user's profile picture circle thing - it's green if you already added them as a friend, which kind of confuses me since it still says the same thing.

Let's see if this note saves!

Redcat March 04, 2014

Clanky March 13, 2014

Ha. I haven't done that yet. But I'm sure the day is coming ... and I hear you about clothes! Ugh! Nothing fits anymore.

Deleted user March 18, 2014

Dressing for work was always a pain for me . I never could decide what looked ok and I have a lot of clothes... So you ask why did I have a lot of clothes but never wear them ? Beats me ... Now I don't work and have a closet full of clothes I need to get rid of . Blue jeans , camisoles, long sleeve shirts or hoodies are my new daily uniform and I rarely even put make- up on anymore unless we are going out. Weirdly I keep losing weight since I quit work. I would be thin if I gave up drinking soda .... Your picture made me smile ! Nice to see you !

edna million Deleted user ⋅ March 18, 2014

Oh, I'd never ask why you have a lot of clothes but never wear them... my closet is PACKED with clothes I never wear. And a lot of them actually do fit. Probably.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.