Sea & Sky in Magical Realism

  • Feb. 24, 2014, 1:35 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So much for moderation. On Thursday evening I made it home right before we would have needed to head out for class, and A only beat me there by two minutes. He was still a stress case so we made the executive decision to relax and share a glass of wine instead. I thought it would be easy for us to show up at 8pm instead of 9pm since we had extra time, but when we got there the restaurant (Bakehouse) was packed so we went down the street to the Jane Hotel bar, one of my all-time favorites, to kill some time instead. A had a bombay sapphire martini, dirty, and I had a negroni. Very nice hour of conversation in the front bar until it was time for our reservation.

This time we went right in and sat at a table with a lovely view of the river. Shared the warm cambozola blue cheese starter which came with citrus honey, poached pears, and a hearty multigrain bread. So good. We had a bottle of white with our red meat entrees. I had the sirloin in a red wine sauce with asparagus, and A had the Bakehouse burger with avocado. After dinner we went back to the Jane which was hopping by that point, and A had to cajole me into going home a bit after 1:30am. Bah. Alarm rang at 5am, showered, dried, and business-ified and was out the door before 6am. Worked a moderately long day and was back home by 8pm. A had beautified the house and picked up dinner from Hu Kitchen which was awesome of him. Conked out by 11pm.

Saturday morning went to grab the zipcar and picked up a lovely breakfast of toasted bagel and coffee. I was still zonked but managed to haul myself out of bed, get ready, and we headed out to Coney Island around 9:30am for the first NYC outdoor swim of the year! It was a really beautiful day out - bright, sunny, air around 55F, water around 35F I estimated?

Here I am, about to get beamed up by aliens: Here I am, about to get beamed up by aliens:

I got in and the water was still freezing. Okay, not freezing, since it was still a liquid, but not hospitable to humans wearing only speedos. Walking in didn't feel much colder than 50* in the Bay, but the effect on my body was immediate. (I checked online later and it was about 34F/2C.) I felt short of breath starting at around ankle-height, so I walked in as fast as I could and then swam hard. I did my usual count to 100 but it never really got better. I swam back and forth between the rocks until my fingers for a few minutes, until my fingers started feeling fat/prickly, so I knew it was time to head back in. Coming back in seemed to take the looooongest time.

Looks bright for February, doesn't it? I love the blues: Looks bright for February, doesn't it:

A threw a towel on me, I dried off, took my cap/goggles/earplugs off and put on fleece hat (key!) and my coat. We walked to the parking lot and I did a quick change in the car. Rewarming was fine, I wasn't in long enough to get really cold. We drove back into Manhattan, dropped the car off and walked home. Hung up all the wet items, then got changed for class. (We do a rowing/circuit training class most Saturdays.) Got to the gym nice and early, walked on treadmill and chatted a bit, then worked out hard in class. Went to the library, then grabbed groceries on the way home. Had brunch at home - champagne and raspberry danish, yum.

Took a nap, A made a grilled chicken/avocado salad that was awesome, then I got ready to go out. I wish I had a photo of my skirt - flowy floor-length black mesh over little hot-pants length skirt. Will have to wear it again and get a photo next time Wore it with a black tee-shirt, big black wedges, half-moon wallet on chain and... bare legs - another first for the year - yay! We took a cab up to the event, which was at a photo studio in far far West Chelsea. So much fun and so bizarre. It was high up and basically on the water so we sat outside on the terrace for most of the time.

Check out this view, so beautiful (taken with panorama setting of A's cell phone: Beautiful: Check out this view!

It actually reminds me of the trailer for the recent The Great Gatsby movie, which in many ways, for me, was better than the movie.

Doesn't even look real - could be a green screen and wind machine, right? Doesn't even look real - could be a green screen and wind machine, right?

He's the king of the world! He's the king of the world!

We hung out on the balcony for ages, just enjoying it all and toasting (repeatedly!) to our 14 year anniversary. How the eff did that happen? We kept saying it alternately seems like yesterday, and also like eternity, in all the best ways. But seriously, 14 years?! So many miles, so many amazing experiences together, we are truly blessed.

We left a bit early and headed towards home. A was hungry so we grabbed a drink and a bite (mozzarella sticks) at our local. Played pinball, then headed out, and were about to go home but noticed the sports bar on the way home had the Ronda Rousey fight, so we went in, had some more drinks, shared edamame and A had french fries. The fight was okay, but I think they called it way too early. McMann definitely wasn't knocked out. Went home sometime after midnight, usually very reasonable for a weekend, but still way later than we'd anticipated.

Of course 6am came around way too early yet again. A made us oatmeal with blueberries and I hauled myself out of bed. We went uptown to Central Park, ran a half marathon, then took the subway home. Actually "ran" is probably too strong a word, we started slow and I got tired/bored about ten miles in and took frequent walk breaks after that. Oh well.

A showered and then I took a really nice long bubble bath with candles and everything. We brought home a couple of bagels from the race and A toasted them and them to me in the bath. Even better than breakfast in bed - breakfast in the bath. Ha. I am not sure how long I was in there, but I put more warm water/more bubbles in twice and finished a whole (chick-lit) book while laying in the bath. A was asleep when I got into bed, and we slept until 6am Monday morning! I was totally confused when the alarm went off, but it was a great recharge. I think sometimes I stay up too late on Sunday which makes Mondays a little painful, but this was a great start to the week! It will be a long one with a work trip and not coming back until mid-day Saturday, so anything to make it easier.


nowthat'salady February 24, 2014

Blessed and lucky indeed. Happy anniversary.

Red February 24, 2014

GIRL! I used to whine and moan when I had to swim in 60 degree water. You are hardcore. Love it!

pandora February 24, 2014

It's so lolies how you're all like, "Ho hum, got groceries, swam in iceberg water, ran a half marathon, drank a martini."

Satine pandora ⋅ February 24, 2014

That basically sums up my life, love it. :)

pandora February 24, 2014

PS You guys look gorgie! Your boobs and arms are so firm and nice looking. I don't mean that in a pervy way.

Screech503 February 24, 2014

Thank you for documenting your culinary adventures. It helps me remember my old life.

It sounds like I'm bitching, but I'm not. I wouldn't trade the new life for anything.

But it's still nice to remember what a good meal that I didn't cook is like.

daylight February 24, 2014

That view is amazing! And you both look wonderful too.

devatchka February 24, 2014

Happy 14 years! This city truly is beautiful!

I'm a huge fan of reading in the bathtub. One of my favorite things in the world.

missing maui February 24, 2014

Aw, happy 14 years! You guys have been together about as long as me and Kevin (we hit 14 years last November). I agree that it is an eternity and a blink of an eye all rolled up into one. So glad you have such an amazing partner in crime.

Sounds like a great weekend with just the right mix of everything. And I agree those pictures look fake. Thanks for sharing them; I really enjoyed!

sarahbaby. February 24, 2014

That is COLD water!

Breakfast in the bath reminds me of that dealer character from Deuce Bigelow Male Gigolo who always eats in the hot tub and drops the food in the water then fishes it out and ears in anyway. So gross and hilarious.

Satine sarahbaby. ⋅ February 24, 2014

OMG I am so grossed out now. With the fried CHICKEN and all that other crazy stuff?!?! It was only a bagel in my own bathtub but now I will never be able to do it again. Argh! That movie is so hysterical though, I truly love it. (Sometimes I look in the mirror and yell "That's a HUGE BI&CH!" at myself, lovingly ;)

sarahbaby. Satine ⋅ February 24, 2014

Hahahahaha sorry!

sarahbaby. February 24, 2014

Eats it, not ears in. Ha.

~Mrs. O~ February 24, 2014

Burrr! I have no idea how you get in that cold water. I would wear a wet suit even in the dead of summer back when I surfed (haven't surfed since Oct. 2010) and I was still cold.

Happy 14th Anniversary and Cheers to many more adventurous years ahead! Sounds like a great weekend and you look lovely as ever!

Caty Shark February 24, 2014

I get tired just reading your life sometimes. It sounds like a whole pile of fun but working a full day after bed at 1:30 and rising at 5 just would be possible for me anymore. Impressive!

Deleted user February 24, 2014

Happy 14 years.... And here's to many more breakfast in baths!

Deleted user February 25, 2014

Congratulations on 14 years! :) so long!

kmh. February 25, 2014

Swimming in 2 degrees! Brrrrr. Aww congratulations on 14 years, that is so lovely :) You both look great and so happy in the photos.

Bluesea February 25, 2014

Aw, happy anniversary! I like A's suit.

midnight radio February 25, 2014

Fourteen years! Wow! Happy anniversary!

Omg, I'm cold just reading about that swim. Are you nuts?! Lol!

~jo

LotusButterfly February 26, 2014

Sounds like a fantastic weekend!! I love the pictures!! You look gorgeous and A looks so happy!! 14 years, yowza! I am glad u celebrated accordingly!!!

MoonRise February 26, 2014

By the time I scrolled all the way down your comments to write you one, I forgot what I was going to say. You popular, girl. Oh! I remembered. I do not know how you function on so little sleep. And you always have! I am just someone who feels like a ZOMBIE with less than 7 hours, and that isn't even with alcohol involved. If I've been drinking, I MUST get 8 hours or else I'm like the worst person in the world. I am impressed.

Satine MoonRise ⋅ February 26, 2014

For me, I think the lack of sleep is worse than the drinking usually!

aglow March 03, 2014

Now THAT is how to celebrate it up, sweetness. Happy 14 to you & your cutie-pie; y'all are a darling couple, you know that? <33

Also, I want to eat the first few paragraphs about food. Drooool.

dancerd March 04, 2014

Congrats on your anniversary!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.