Land of the Free? in Watching Time Go By

  • May 16, 2019, 1:15 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Everything is so backwards these days.
I’m so upset over all of this.

Ohio and Alabama have basically banned abortion no matter the circumstances.
Rape, accidents, and nonviable pregnancies, the one’s that could also harm the mother, included.

In Ohio you have 6 weeks.
That’s not even long enough to find out that you are pregnant.

When I was in high school, I only had my period every other month.
You can imagine the mental stress it put on me when I became sexually active.
Even now, I find my period to be irregular. I didn’t even have one in January.
I’ve resorted to tracking it on my phone and, even still, it can’t predict when it will begin.

They want to place restrictions on birth control.
Half of the reason for birth control doesn’t even have to do with preventing pregnancy.
It’s use covers a very broad spectrum of women’s health issues that I am so thankful I have not had to experience myself. So many have it so much worse than me. I just get some pretty mean cramps on my first 24 hours. (I still cry).

Georgia says they want to pass a law of second degree murder to those who miscarry.
That’s right, you read it.
Murder for something you have no control over. (I don’t see that getting very far, but the government tends to disappoint).

About 20% of pregnancies end in miscarriage.
I know so many women who have miscarried.
It’s medically known to be common.

No one wants to miscarry.
No one wants to have abortions.
I believe abortions are always very hard and difficult choices that people have had to make and live with. It’s kind of weird calling it a choice. I am pretty sure there are those out there who experienced the exact opposite of a choice and more of a stark reality.
Some even still chose not to.

I cried in my dream last night.
I dreamed I was less than human because I was woman.
A man spit on me because I wanted to buy a train ticket to go home.
These events are slowly eating at my psyche as they progress because “what if that becomes me?” It’s already “me” to so many people.

My heart weeps for the 11 year old who was raped and is now forced to carry the baby to term.
What kind of life could that possibly provide for her? How is a child expected to raise a child?
Why isn’t she allowed to have the choice to return to some point of normal childhood experiences and prepare for the rest of her life and possibly even consider children when it is more appropriate? Where does she get the opportunity to cope with being raped? Shit, I’m 31 and still not truly ready for a child. Not financially, emotionally or physically. But I’d feel much better about it now than I would have at 11. 16. 19. 22. 25. I would have lost my mind.

Life, liberty and happiness.
There is no life in unhappiness.
There is no liberty without choice.
There is no happiness without liberty.

Children are not a punishment and should never be used as such.


❤️vee May 16, 2019

being that I have had both a miscarriage and an abortion (medically necessary), I feel I'd be exiled or imprisoned for life in many places lately

Quiet ❤️vee ⋅ May 16, 2019

you should never have to feel that way. You've already gone through enough.

Deleted user May 16, 2019

Guarantee you no one will ever be prosecuted for miscarrying. It's a sad thing that cannot be controlled. That law will never, ever pass. Not even sure why Georgia us attempting to use that tactic. xx

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.