still waving! in crawling into 2014.

  • Feb. 24, 2014, 8:19 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Half term was fabulous, such good times and fun together. And Saturday the girls had their swimming lessons. Tally's new teacher wasn't there and it made us make a decision.

You see, her and tally have clashed from the beginning. Tally's standard has dropped as the teacher has got more fed up of being frowned at because tally feels the teacher its picking on her. It's a truly viscous circle. As long as the teacher keeps pointing out what tally is doing wrong the worse tally feels about herself, the lost her swimming ability gets, the more the teacher points out what she's doing wrong.

There is a teacher who, usually, only works on weekdays after school but every so often she comes in on a Saturday as a stand-in. This Saturday was one of those days and tally grinned throughout, swimming as well as she used to, sooooo I asked about the times at the desk. There is a stage 4 class on Tuesdays, taught by the fantastic teacher, at 5:30pm.

Oh bollocks bollocks bollocks!! just realised I have bffn's kids on Tuesday until 5:30!! gah I've promised tally that she can go to the new teacher as well!! Will have to talk to bffn!

fuckity fuckity never mind.

Anyway. At the beginning of half term we watched Little Women and Talaia was entranced so I got the book on kindle (free) and have been reading it. It's important to me that she had positive female role models in her reading and, while I'm enjoying reading the book, I do feel that i sshould constantly remind her that the book was written in Victorian times when people had very different ideas of how men and women should behave!

So - that's why I haven't been around; my nose has been stuck in a book :)


Darcy0207 from OD February 24, 2014

I recently re-read Little Women, then branched out into other books of hers. There's a modern book, by Brooks, called Mr. March, which is his "side" of the story (the father who is absent from the books). I love downloading free books on the Kindle!

Deleted user February 24, 2014

Oh I hope you can make it work out! I lovvvved Little Women. After Little Women, how about Anne of Green Gables... that's a darling book (series) and the movie version is sooooo delightful. It's online.

Life Is For Living February 24, 2014

I love Little Women! It is still one of my favourites.

I hope you can make things work with the other teacher's schedule! xxx

ElvenAssassin February 24, 2014

Reading is healthy and good! Something I should do more of! I hope you can work things out with BBFN and swimming; Talaia deserves it!

salty*dog February 24, 2014

Fingers crossed you get Tally in with the awesome teacher! :)

The Tranquil Loon February 24, 2014

personality and attitude make a difference huh?!!! It's a good teaching lesson to us. I've got the little house series around somewhere. Glad your instilling the gift of reading!

Sapphire February 24, 2014

Good luck sorting out the swimming lessons. Just don't understand how there can be teachers who actively pick on and discourage certain kids, but sadly it's a fact of life. tally deserves better!

~Twinkle~ February 24, 2014

Love Little Women! Hope you are able to sort the times, sounds great for Tally with the other teacher :) x

thesunnyabyss February 24, 2014

it's too bad the teacher can't get past the frown of a little girl, but I sure hope things work out for the schedule change,

enjoy the books!!

Deleted user February 24, 2014

There's not a better place to stuck your nose than in a book! :-*

Deleted user February 24, 2014

Student teacher relationship is so important.

Deleted user February 26, 2014

"So - that's why I haven't been around; my nose has been stuck in a book :)"

There are worse reasons. Many and much worse reasons. Enjoy!

edna million February 26, 2014

I don't know how many times I read Little Women when I was a kid. And Little Men, and I think Jo's Boys was one I really loved. Although now of course I remember nothing about it.

Deleted user March 06, 2014

I love that book but you are right; there are big changes in expectations for women's behaviors. In genteel households women did not have it so bad - even Marmie had help in the house but if you were poor, uneducated and had a lout for a husband I do not think Life for a woman was nice at all !

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.