Work rants in A new beginning

  • Feb. 23, 2014, 10:08 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

First I just want to say that Friday really sucked. It was such a shit show at work. It was just one thing after another and being understaffed is always a fun twist to add into the mix.

One of the surgeons I work with has a ridiculous schedule every day. He sees between 35-45 patients between 8-3:45. If you do the math, yes that means a ton of overbooks. Each doctor has two MAs.(medical assistants) One to do the intake (vitals, meds, history, getting the visit and xrays up etc) and the other to assist. This surgeon really needs at least 3 people to deal with his schedule and one of the MAs that works with him called out which means one of the secretaries had to step in to do the intake. Luckily it wasn't me this time although if she calls out again tomorrow it will be. So it was just me at the desk while trying to help them out with patients and this one patient in the xray waiting room was having an anxiety attack because his appointment was at 1:00 and it was 1:15 and his ride was picking him up at 1:45. "Thank God I took my meds or else I would be freaking out even more than I already am!" All I could say was "Oh yeah that is a good thing!" Then we had this woman come in with a finger fracture that needed surgery but she had hit her head and has a history of multiple craniotomies so we needed to figure out who did the neurosurgery consult. I finally figured it out and got the office to page the neurosurgeon to our surgeon. Then the girl that just got all the hospital surgeries added to her work load started giving me attitude about having to call this woman to add her on for tomorrow and I was about to lose it. This girl is so smug and lazy, I am tried of doing her job too. I am just letting things play out from now on because she is not grateful at all. She can have all the hospital surgeries and screw those up too. Pretty sure my surgeon doesn't even know those were taken away from me and given to her. She's going to be pissed. I'm staying out of it. The last time I got pulled to do intake my surgeon was pissed. She saw someone sitting at my desk and goes "Tell me why is she sitting at your desk and you are doing intake". And if looks could kill I tell you....She is one you DO NOT want to piss off. All I said was "Good question". Luckily she understands it's lithium manager, not me but she hates it when anyone takes my place because no one knows her patients like I do. I'm not saying I'm anything special. It's the same thing with any other surgeon in the practice...for the most part.

Also they decided to set up two CEO candidate interviews during my surgeon's clinic which meant I had to reschedule patients. And these patients were of course ones I already had to move from the day after once before so they were understandably pissed to have their appointments moved yet again. One old woman yelled at me. Can't say I blame her so I squeezed her in for tomorrow. What's another overbook right?

I talked to my surgeon briefly on Friday. She asked how things were going and when I said good she was like..."No really..." I told her it was a rough day and that's when she asked about the meeting invites she was just received from the CEO's assistant and wanted to know what they were about. I told her they were CEO interviews and she was like "You know I find it very hard they JUST found out about this". I said I agreed and warned her the schedule was very messed up this week. Couldn't go in depth like I wanted to because we were on the phone and people were around. It's just so frustrating how in the dark the doctors are about things. They have no clue all the shady shit management does behind the scenes and I have no problem being honest about things...but still walk that fine line about not telling too much because I do need the job after all.

Oh yeah the nurse practitioner from my last entry got fired. Apparently he made a really bad mistake at the hospital that I can't even go into due to HIPAA but it's pretty crazy. I feel bad for him but he really should have stuck to being a nurse. He started out as a temp nurse and they expedited his credentials and it just went down hill from there.

Yesterday we went to the inlaws and had dinner with them and Jesse's crazy aunt. She's not a bad person or anything but she is just....nuts. During one part of her visit she pulled out this giant scrapbook to show my 2 year old. One of the pages was titled "SUICIDE" and had a cartoon skeleton picture on it with apparently her thoughts on suicide. Of course Lilly would have to be fixated on the suicide page and keep saying "ouch! ouch!" at the skeleton. As she was going through the pages she was like "oh this is from the man I met in the mental institution" " And this is from some asshole I used to be with...oh look this is a letter from my shrink saying I'm too crazy to serve on jury duty" I read the note and it's true. Also got to read some of her poetry and thoughts about life and death. You know all things 2 year olds are into. Oddly enough it made me want to make some sort of scrapbook. Not as detailed as hers of course but something to put pictures and mementos in.

I'm really not looking forward to tomorrow. Had a late nap with Lilly this afternoon so she's still up. So another night of no sleep and tomorrow is not only Monday but the first day my surgeon is coming back from her vacation so her schedule is horrible. I'm hoping for some cancellations. I remember when I first started I was told absolutely no overbooks in her schedule. Well, tomorrow she has like at least 10. Tuesday and Wednesday are the same. Should be a great week!

And now I will leave you with Max...a casualty of playing dress up with Lilly

( photo 002-1.jpg)

BFFS ( photo 001-2.jpg)


QueenOfBritton February 24, 2014

OMG that f-ing scrap book! I don't know how you remained calm. And seriously, the picture of Lily on the phone with the cat is soooo adorable.

It's_all_a_journey February 24, 2014

Wow she does sound crazy! Good thing Lilly doesn't understand it all.

Aww Max is so cute! My cats mostly run from the kids lol

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.