Big Dwayne. in Snippets

  • Sept. 4, 2013, 2:53 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Big Dwayne passed just over a year after little Dwayne. Cirrhosis of the liver. Big Dwayne had an alcohol addiction as do many of his friends. I went to his memorial. I first met big Dwayne at the park where we hand out food. He gave me a bear hug that seriously hurt me for a week. There was no intent to harm he was just strong. He always asked if we could lend him 5 dollars. He promised he would never pay us back. I think of the many conversations I had with him and I was amazed at how little I knew about him. We hand out food because we really want to build relationship with the people in our neighborhood. These are people that I am deeply fond of. I try to take the time to REALLY get to know them. I just didn't have enough time with Big Dwayne.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.