Currently reading... in Thoughts, wishes and things

  • May 8, 2019, 3:11 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’d like to update about the book I’m currently reading. It’s “The Stepchild” by Joanne Fluke. I’m reading it as an e-book.

It’s a weird book in a few ways. The book itself was set long before cellphones, which is so weird! I only noticed now when I went to find the link for GoodReads, that it was published in 1980! It reads almost like it was set in the 60’s or 70’s, honestly.

It’s certainly intriguing and interesting, although at times it’s unclear whether or not it has an element of the paranormal. I think that is intentional, and it certainly makes it interesting (“Am I reading regular suspense?” “Am I reading paranormal?”)

I think it would be way better if it was updated for today’s audience. The plot seems to be working really well so far, but the sorts of expressions people use are really dated, as is the fact of not having cellphones. I realize I picked up the book so I shouldn’t make the author accountable for that, but what I’m saying is that it’s such a universally good plot that I feel it should be given a new life by the author via a new edition of the book.

I’m getting toward the end and I’m excited to see how that goes. It’s not one of those books I can’t put down, but it certainly is an attention-grabbing read and it’s not one of those ones where you forget what’s going on. It’s easy to keep up with the characters and what they’re doing. Anyway, that’s what I’m reading right now.

EDIT ADDED AFTER FINISHING BOOK: I recommend staying away!! I was not impressed with the ending!


Last updated May 11, 2019


Comments are closed.

No comments.

Comments are closed.