Random update in Diary

  • May 7, 2019, 3:05 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I got my period for the first time in 18 months! I don’t know how my body decides when to start again, maybe Harrison has reduced his breastfeeding enough to affect my hormones? Anyway, I was expecting it to be really heavy and painful but it wasn’t, it’s absolutely fine. I kind of like the fact that it’s come back, it’s a sign that my body is returning to normal.

On Saturday me and Dave went to the cinema to see Avengers Endgame while Harrison stayed with his nanny. I loved it, Dave wasn’t too impressed. Mainly I enjoyed being at the cinema for the first time since November; I used to go every week!

I had a recall on my car. Apparently there was a fault with the handbrake; the car is eight years old, I don’t know why it took them so long. Anyway, I had to take it into the nearest Vauxhall dealership which is a pain; Dave had to follow me down so he could bring me back home and then drop me off again to collect it. They gave me a “free health check” in compensation, but really it was just an exercise in them finding loads of faults with my car that they could try and charge me for fixing. I said thank you, I’ll bear them in mind. It passed its MOT in March and none of the things were mentioned, so I’ll leave it, as I have no money anyway. Pain in the arse.

Over the bank holiday weekend, me, Dave and Harrison went swimming, spent a day at Dudley zoo and went to Sarehole Mill, which is one of the locations in the West Midlands that inspired Tolkien to write Lord of the Rings. We saw Morris Dancers for the mayday celebrations. Apart from that, it wasn’t very exciting, but it got us out of the house.

Harrison has recently discovered how to use his index finger, and he’s using it to poke everything, which makes me laugh every time he pokes holes, screws and other small things. He’s finally eating a decent amount of food and is having three meals a day. He’s still breastfeeding 8-10 times a day, but four or five of those are during the night when he wakes up and needs to latch on to get back to sleep, which is still very annoying but I’m sure he’ll grow out of it…

So I’m getting my last wage this month before I go to back to work. I won’t be back full time until September so I’ve been trying to think of ways to earn bits of money here and there. I do short surveys and I’ve started uploading some of my photos to a stock agency app. I’m looking to do some more mystery shopping but there doesn’t seem to be anything in my area, and I’ve found an app where you can get paid to do laundry, but I can’t get it working as it doesn’t seem to like my address. I’ve had a few enquiries for pet sitting through my Facebook page, but they’re all for the area that I used to live in before I moved in with Dave. I have no idea why, I’ve updated the page with my new area so there must be something going wrong that’s making it come up in the wrong area when people search. Very annoying. So my money making ideas aren’t going very far at the moment!


Last updated May 07, 2019


~Twinkle~ May 07, 2019

My period just showed up, and it wasn’t too bad! Like you, I’m glad it arrived!
I’m trying so hard to be careful with money, it’s hard when most things cost money!

Bomb Shell ~Twinkle~ ⋅ May 07, 2019

I know what you mean. Harrison loves getting out and doing lots of different activities, he hates being at home, but it all costs money!

Crystal May 07, 2019

Saw you on the front page... I have an almost 10 month old. I breastfeed as well and my period came back 6 months ago! I wasn't happy about it at the time, but I'm fine with it now. It will make it easier to start trying for baby #2 soon. My periods haven't been bad at all since they came back. That's a blessing.

Bomb Shell Crystal ⋅ May 07, 2019

How exciting for you trying for baby #2. Harrison is almost nine months old and I can’t imagine having another, he’s so demanding!

Crystal Bomb Shell ⋅ May 07, 2019

Gideon is pretty demanding too, but I've always wanted two children and have always wanted them close in age! (Not to mention I'm not getting any younger!) We're planning on starting to try by the time he is one year old which is in July.

Bomb Shell Crystal ⋅ May 07, 2019

I know what you mean. I used to want three children, but I was 36 when Harrison was born and Dave was 42, so I don’t think I’ll be able to have three now. Dave wants another one, I would like to have a sibling for Harrison but I don’t know if I have the energy or patience!

Bumbly May 07, 2019

My fb keeps trying to tell people I live in Hull which is really helpful on the village fb page 🙄😕

I'm currently wondering about what days Robyn will go to preschool and choosing one based on the cheap day at the cinema haha. Got to have some perks!

Lucretia May 08, 2019

Our house is on a postcode with only 4 other houses and there's so many sites/apps that don't have it listed so I can't use/buy their products and services. It's so frustrating!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.