No Title in General

  • May 4, 2019, 2 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

It isn’t a surprise to me but I was accepted into the MFA program. I grunted out an eight page short story as a writing sample.

The primary reason I would even apply is I am being mercenary. I get 600 bucks a month while I am in school. My GI bill runs out in August of 2020, unless something changes.

Trump could buy about 6 million veteran votes by managing to extend Post 9-11 GI bill eligibility to 20 years instead of 15. Eligibility clock begins the day you leave service.

Funny to think that next summer I will have been retired from the Navy for 15 years.

The secondary reason I applied to the program was that I always wanted to be an author.

My problem is I write a paragraph, and then get wrapped around the axle editing until I forget what story I was trying to tell. I am hoping this little foray into “forced writing” will teach me a thing or two. Editing really is my Achilles heel.

On a completely different subject, I have been attempting to go Keto for about a week. Failing spectacularly. I’ll start again tomorrow. Because tonight I am having a big steak and a baked potato and creamed spinach. It’s only the potato that ruins it. Or makes it better.

We are finally back into grilling season. I must reintroduce myself to Mr. Weber Kettlegrill.


Last updated May 04, 2019


Deleted user May 04, 2019

Congratulations!

Pintador May 04, 2019

Yep, the tater makes it and breaks it. How can something so good be so bad?
Exciting to hear that you’re pursuing your writing!

woman in the moon May 04, 2019

There's a man in one of my writers groups who regrets avoiding the draft during Vietnam because he wishes he had medical benefits now.

Is there any question of whether you need or will use the education you get from the benefits?

My husband got an AA degree and started a four year degree but we moved back here and there aren't any close schools here.

I'm not trying to be critical - just that it's a big world. For all of us.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.