Flash Friday 2-21-14, last day of a dying tree in Flash Friday

  • Feb. 23, 2014, 9:58 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

When the kids were little and their home was broken I’d use my days with them to hike. It’s hard, that, there’s an urge to overcompensate, a desperate brave face apology often bought in ice cream and Chuck E fucking Cheese. There’s also the terror in your own heart that besides just being a shitty dad you’ve also broken your own life.

So we hiked in the gorge. It’s always been impossible for me to feel broken in the Columbia Gorge and, though I suspect they could feel it all on their own, I wanted my kids to have that same association. I invented myths for our hikes, it’s what I do, I make up stories. One mottled wind and water carved cave I said was the fairy place, that the fairies hid in the small holes and fissures in the rock, and if we touched the rock with our right hands heading east and our left hands heading west the fairies would show us something new. We would look for the fairy gift in the woods, along the trail or in the high sequoia branches like a needled roof above.

One of the hikes we took started near the Columbia and climbed abruptly up to a trail, that if taken led to every place the falls along that stretch of the gorge fell from. There were a lot of myths along that trail. There was on that wasn’t a myth, though we always stopped and I said my little piece, more like a prayer than a story.

At the bottom of that trail is a park, a playground, six months of the year a public rest room. There was also this tree split in half by lightning, hollowed out near the trunk. The tree had grown around the split, the two halves of the trunk reconnecting at the top where the branches began to spread. The branches acted differently on each half and in the autumn when the leaves changed; the leaves on the eastern half would turn golden and on the western half red/orange.

My little story, my little prayer was to tell the kids how that tree was symbolic of how I felt about the world, about people, about Oregon. That no matter what adversity befalls us, split in two by lightening for instance, we find a way to thrive, and that I never thought the tree was ugly or lesser for it’s scar, I found it all the more beautiful for it’s uniqueness, for its will to thrive, that I loved it’s golden leaves and I loved it’s red/orange leaves.

Like any kids anywhere you can’t skip parts of a story or a myth or a prayer, the routine of the smallest ritual has to be consistent, it’s how they form their world.

The tree is gone now; it’s been maybe ten years, the kids grown with their own children. I didn’t get a chance to say goodbye to the tree, it’s was removed when I had some other sort of stupid life event consuming my time, my thoughts, my heart. I think it’s better that I didn’t watch it taken down. I celebrated it’s will to live in my own mind and heart I would have needed to add to the mythology or the prayer how all the will in the world doesn’t stop the parks and recs crew from coming with a chainsaw. They even pulled out the stump.


Deleted user February 23, 2014

This was great. And true, I think.

Lots of fathers read their kids fairy tales. Not so many can make them shine through the cracks in the real world the way you can.

You had lucky kids.

haredawg drools Deleted user ⋅ February 23, 2014

Thanks, and yeah it's true enough. My daughter flew to Oregon this morning for a job interview with Multnomah County. It's weird to think of how much of his life the grandwhelp has spent here. I mean he does things he likes, he hikes, plays ball --- I liked growing up here. My kids had the gorge; here we have to make our own magic. I'm trying awfully hard to think of it as six of one half a dozen of the other. It'd be easier if I were skipping stones into the Columbia.

haredawg drools Deleted user ⋅ February 23, 2014

Sorry, I do know how to take a compliment. Being a parent is a bitch and if you don't learn to be humble you get taught the hard way. I turned out to not suck at it. I used what I had and made it work. My little piece of Oregon, though, was a pretty fantastic prop, and the stuff I brought to the table worked best because the table was god damned beautiful. And, as I'm sure your mother has told you, it's a hell of a lot easier raising great kids when the kids are great.

In the broader more existential sense; I have supernatural luck. I probably have the same amount of shitty things happen to me by accident as everybody else, but I have incredible gifts laid at my feet all the time. I worked hard at being a parent and my kids worked hard for what they have and more importantly for who they are, but it would be naive for me not to recognize the heavy dollop of extra luck, magic and blessing.

The box is sort of an example, banal perhaps, not overtly magical, well, simple mind might beg to differ --- stronger sites have fell without barely leaving the ground --- but I haven't put much into making a home here and I've been giving a set keys and place to lay my head all the same and it's among the brilliant and the crazy; just like home.

Nash February 23, 2014

Beautifully told, dawg.

haredawg drools Nash ⋅ February 23, 2014

Thanks man.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.