The Times They Are A Changing in Life After 60

  • May 3, 2019, 9:13 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Change is inevitable. But is change always good? I would suppose that it depends on what the change is, how it effects you, and one’s reaction to it. And I have seen so much change in the last 9 years. And I have watched as my belief system was altered.
If you want to start a fight, or a hotly contested debate, bring up Religion or Politics. You will find people who are normally even tempered and mild can go from your friend to an enemy in 0 to 60 seconds.
In today’s climate one word can “offend” a person and you can wind up in the worst trouble you have ever seen. Certain words or phrases send some people into rage. Cut someone off on the highway, you may end up dead. Actions and words that were not given a second thought, today will land you in the unemployment line or jail?
It is required of me to be more tolerant of those who don’t share my belief’s and yet at the same time those people are allowed to say whatever they like. We have come too far right/left depending on your views. Even the first amendment is constantly under attack.
Of course merely reading and interpreting the first amendment is open to debate.
I can not say for certain what the founding fathers were thinking when they wrote our Constitution but I think there is a time when we have to be honest about government over reach.
There is no absolute freedom, only laws that require us to adhere or pay the consequences. I may not agree with you views, but I will defend your right to express them. After all, maybe together we might just learn something along the way.
The world I grew up knowing does not exist any more. Oh, the times they are a changing, like it or not.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.