Baby Archie and a few other things in The View from the Terrace

  • May 11, 2019, 7:06 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m really fed up today. I ordered a repeat prescription of my migraine meds from the doctors last Tuesday. They have their own pharmacy and you can ususaly collect within 48 hours. On Friday they still hadn’t come in and I am getting low so I asked for a prescription to take to another pharmacy. Then yesterday I put my back out. It happens from time to time. The doctor said a few years ago that I had injured a muscle and it is now weakened. It will gradually go right in a few days but I wasn’t up to going out yesterday so Hubby drove to Hereford to get the meds. He was ages; eventually he came back to say he had tried several supermarket pharmacies but none had them in. One pharmacist had rung up the manufacturers and found there is a problem with supply. I take the orodispersible ones that melt in your mouth but I would be happy with the ordinary tablets. One pharmacy did have the tablets but refused to give them to Hubby because the prescription was for orodispersible, they are the same drug! It’s like refusing to give you aspirin tablets because they didn’t have the soluble ones. This morning I rang Boots and they don’t have them either so I am now worrying as it is weekend and I can’t ring the doctor until Monday. I’m assuming he will prescribe an alternative drug. There are two I have taken before that work. I hope he doesn’t insist on seeing me first as my back is really bad. We were planning to go out to a flower show this weekend but I am not up to it so I am lying on the bed worrying about running out of migraine meds.

Suki went to the vet on Thursday for her scan. When she went in for a checkup a few weeks back they found she had a heart murmur and the scan was to find out if she had a problem that required treatment. Unfortunately she was not well behaved and bit the veterinary nurse. However the news was good. The heart murmur is an innocent one which means it will do no harm.

It was lovely to see how excited and happy Prince Harry was when he announced the birth of his son. I’m really surprised that they’ve called him Archie though. I mean I expected something a bit more traditional. I thought they might be a bit rebellious, maybe go for a name that is traditional but not royal like Peter or Joseph, but Archie? I’m not saying it’s not a nice name it just sounds wrong for a royal baby. I mean what if he were to become king one day. I know that’s very unlikely. It would need all three of William’s children to die before him without leaving children but it could happen. Queen Victoria followed 3 brothers who died without legitimate children. Just imagine King Archie. I know Princess Anne’s grandchildren have modern names but the chances of them coming to the throne are as good as impossible.

It’s funny because when Prince Louis was called Louis Arthur Charles I joked to Hubby that maybe they were Eastenders fans because at the time there were children in that called Louis and Arthur. I now realise that Archie was the name of a main character, though a while ago now. I fully expect young Archie to have a sister they will call Stacy in a couple of years time! You need to be an Eastenders fan to get that!

This week the May Fair came to Hereford. I had a meeting at my voluntary job on Wednesday evening so I planned to go in early and have a walk around the fair first. When I told Chris he asked why I would want to do that. Tony had much the same attitude. It seems I am the only one who enjoys the fair nowadays. I don’t go on any rides but I love the atmosphere, everyone is happy and having a great time, plus there is a great old fashioned sweet stall where I always treat myself.
alt text

I haven’t been able to do much in the garden lately as the weather has been cold and wet. I still haven’t replanted the flower bed that we had to dig up for the plumber. It all moves on so quickly in spring. The cherry blossom only lasted just over a week, the forsythia was over a while ago and there are just a few blossoms left on the magnolia. But now the lilac is out and smells divine and the hawthorn tree at the bottom of the garden is covered with blossom. Hubby grew the lilac from a cutting years ago and the hawthorne self seeded, a gift from Mother Nature.
alt text
alt text

The clematis is in full bloom. I hope to be able to get out there soon. I just need my back to get better and then to have a day when it isn’t raining or blowing a gale and to have my migraine meds to take if I need them.
alt text


Marg May 11, 2019

I hope you were able to get your migraine tablets in time - it's ridiculous they couldn't give you the ordinary ones!
I was also quite surprised at how untraditional Archie was for the baby - it just doesn't sound royal at all does it? I do like the Harrison bit though!
I hope you get on top of that back pain - it's so debilitating. I was very lucky - picked the only decent day last week to get the front garden done but I'm still waiting on another one to get the back done :)

Deleted user May 12, 2019

I hope you get your meds !
What a lovely Kew ? Lavender! I love them but they are an annual here . :-( and never bloom before Fall , then they do not do well inside . :-(
I was surprised at “ Archie” . It’s cute but not what exactly I would expect . I like Harrison !

^..^Kat May 13, 2019

How frustrating. I hope you were able to get something to tide you over. Your flowers are very pretty.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.