Opinions please? - edit - votes are in! in The Long and Winding Road

Revised: 05/01/2019 5:58 p.m.

  • May 1, 2019, 12:30 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

EDIT: Thank you all for your opinions. Most of you like the brushed nickel and that’s the way I was leaning also! Thank you for validating my preference. Either way, the hinges will be painted, so either color could chip, though I don’t think it’s likely – it’s not like anybody will ever touch them or bang anything up against them. But if it happened, either color could be easily touched up.

As mentioned in yesterday’s entry, I’m going back and forth on kitchen cabinet hinges. White, or sort of a brushed nickel to match the hardware? I think I know which way I’m leaning but I’d like to hear some other opinions.

Here are two pictures of white cabinets with brushed nickel or gray hinges:

alt text

This is a great picture because the cabinet and drawer pulls I chose are identical to the ones here:

alt text

Now here are white cabinets with white hinges (these are the best pictures I could find):

alt text

alt text

What do ya think?


Last updated May 01, 2019


GypsyWynd May 01, 2019

The white hinges are nice, but I wonder if they would chip or flake over time?
I prefer the silver hinges.

Justlovely May 01, 2019

So, I don't like the white as much, but are you going to be able to pull off what you want with the work you will otherwise have to do with the hinges? You want it to look a certain way, so if you're confident you can get the hinges to that look, I'd go for the brushed nickel. The white seems a safe choice, however.

Zipster May 01, 2019

I say brushed nickel. Since metal is metal's genuine color. Also because the white will show dirt and in cleaning the white, it may chip or discolor. The nickel will always be nickel and it goes with the other hardware.

stargazing May 01, 2019

I feel like the hinges should be brushed nickel. I like that they would match the hardware.

Beret May 01, 2019

Brushed nickel. White looks fake to me, at least in these pics.

plushcreep May 01, 2019

Never in a million years would I even notice hinges, so I'm probably the wrong person to ask!

Just Annie May 01, 2019

Brushed nickel is my vote!

BrokenBitch May 02, 2019

I like the brushed nickel! Although it seems like the hinges might not sparkle like the knobs would? If you are worried about a paint match, you could use Rub N Buff instead; It is a thicker paste almost, that you can thin down or apply with a brush and it comes in many different colors - you can also mix colors etc; I use it on everything!...frames, furniture, pottery(what/where I originally started using it), many different arts/crafts.....I keep many different colors on hand for touch ups!...comes in handy!
https://www.amaco.com/t/mixed-media/metallic-finishes/rub-n-buff

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.