In the here and now in Life

  • Feb. 22, 2014, 11:24 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Today was Lainie’s 2nd birthday party. I didn't have a very good time at the party. Too many strangers for my liking and I thought Kenny’s mom and dad were being too big of Lainie time hogs. They get to see her every Thursday and Friday and my aunt and uncle get to see her MAYBE once or twice a month. Plus his mom just seemed to be rubbing her nose in the fact that she is recovering so well from her serious illness last year. Yes she almost died and its fantastic that she has recovered so well, but my aunt has a chronic condition, COPD, that makes just sitting in a chair having a conversation exhausting.

it just seemed like way too much for one little girl. She was overwhelmed and not much fun to be around. I was thinking about skipping next years and just celebrating random days when I can enjoy one on one time with her but then again I was thinking critically of Gina’s brothers who thought going to a car race was more important than their niece's 2nd birthday. In the good news department normally that would have been a time I either ate everything in sight at the party and/or binged on the way and at home. Instead I had a small taco salad and 1 small slice of each of the cakes. If I guesstimated right I stayed within my calorie range.

Maybe I’m just irritable today from the long run, six hours sleep, and the mandatory OT I had to work this morning. I’m also irritated with the vet. I took Snoop in because he has been vomiting after almost every single meal. I was expecting to see the nice vet but instead got the new vet. She wanted to talk about food allergies and putting him on special food. I cant see that happening and I don't beleive thats it. He vomits dry food, wet food, and the little bits of turkey I give as treats. He cant be allergic to all 3. Plus its worse some weeks than other weeks. Overall she just made me feel like a bad owner. We did blood work and I think I’ll insist on dealing with old vet when they results are in.

Good Things I did for me.

Ran 9 miles. Well I probably walked a good mile of that. It took me 2 hours and at an hour and a half I ran out of steam and did a walk run combination. The longer the half hour went on the longer the walk vs the run. :)

Stayed in calorie range

Gratitudes That I have a Snoopy cat to worry over.


edna million February 23, 2014

The big birthday parties just seem weird to me--- my nieces do that for their kids, and I always feel like there are way too many people there and I really don't get to see the kids at all. It's always a madhouse, and exhausting. When they were kids, we just had little mini-parties at my parents- their grandparents. So it was not a lot of people, and it was actually fun. Of course, I guess the kids are having fun now, but it's just.... weird.

Good for you, not resorting to food for consolation! That is REALLY hard. Annoying about the vet. That is worrisome. Poor Snoopy!

Squidobarnez February 23, 2014

we had a small-ish birthday party for Ashley today (she turned two on the twelfth) with my mom and my stepdad, my brother and his wife, and my stepsister and her fiancé. the whole day went perfectly smoothly, but you could tell Ashley was getting tired toward the end of it.

you keep on a-rockin' it, chicaroni.

PB-buddy-huggies

Eriu February 25, 2014

I'm catching up here. I hope Snoopy gets well soon! I'm afraid one of my old cats is preparing to leave me...She hasn't eaten in the last couple of days and while she's not lethargic she's slow. She's still interested in things, and she doesn't seem sick, I just started giving her a paste so she can get her nutrients, but I'm watching her closely so I don't wait too long to take her to the vet.

^..^Kat February 25, 2014

I hope its nothing serious with Snoopy.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.