The Age of Adeline in General

  • April 28, 2019, 12:16 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

The Age of Adeline

I just watched that movie again. It breaks my heart every time. I don’t know why Hollywood is trying so hard to make it go away, for a five year old movie it should be all over HBO / Cinemax / Starz. There is some political shit going on behind the scenes I am sure.
It is so heartbreaking and bittersweet.

I am in the midst of writing, or more appropriately rewriting a short story for a submission as a writing sample for my application to the MFA program.

I struck me that for the lost love in my short story, I had no emotional investment.

As is, she is “Celia.”

After watching “The Age of Adeline” I wondered how changing her name to “Audrey” would change the trajectory of my emotional writing.

For Celia, as a writer, I have no feelings. But for Audrey, she is the ache that never goes away. And that is what I am looking for in the story I am writing.


Deleted user April 28, 2019 (edited April 28, 2019)

Edited

What do you mean Hollywood is trying to make it go away? I love that movie

Duke Deleted user ⋅ April 28, 2019

It is almost impossible to find on COMCAST/XFINITY, and when you do find it, it costs six bucks. At five years most movies are included. Even The Shallows which came out after Age of Adeline is available as included.

Deleted user April 28, 2019

I loved that movie. Change your character’s name to Audrey; it will breathe life into your story.

Duke Deleted user ⋅ April 28, 2019

I could always change her to Audrey while writing, then switch back after I am done editing.

Deleted user Duke ⋅ April 28, 2019

That is true but no one will recognize the name / person ; Audrey , where you are submitting so if you want her name in it , you could leave it that way .

Kristi1971 April 29, 2019

That's one of my favorites....it was just shown recently here. We have a local fibre company - not Comcast/Afinity.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.